1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

What Processes can be killed

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Yosef, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. Yosef

    Yosef Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    89
    5
    16
    Engineer and Messianic Rabbi
    Does anyone know what processes can be safely killed? There are so many processes running in the background and I'm sure many can be safely killed without affecting the Droid 2 Global. What about a list of processes that can be safely killed?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    Just let android do its thing. That's what most users and I do. There is no need for a task killer because android likes to use up RAM on its own and that's just how it performs better. I wouldn't kill any processes.
     
  3. Knewz

    Knewz Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    821
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010

    Oct 22, 2010
    821
    72
    78
    Tech
    Georgia
    task panel X(task panel xtra) will kill task but only normal task, none of the core apps need for proper phone function
     
  4. NiceGuysFinishLast

    NiceGuysFinishLast Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    472
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    472
    73
    73
    FL
    Use titanium backup. Freeze the unwanted bloat. You can freeze things like amazon, blockbuster, kindle, etc etc. This works better than killing them because when you kill them, they'll eventually restart, and continuously killing/restarting them uses more battery than just letting them run; Titanium Backup makes them invisible to your system, so they can't run.
     
  5. Yosef

    Yosef Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010

    Jan 18, 2010
    89
    5
    16
    Engineer and Messianic Rabbi
    Doesn't this require Root? I don't plan on rooting.

    Thanks
     
  6. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    Titanium does require root. Rooting and unrooting is simple, so don't be afraid to root :)
     
  7. Goodspike

    Goodspike Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,144
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010

    Dec 28, 2010
    1,144
    143
    143
    Male
    Seattle
    You can kill Global Unplug, and it doesn't turn back on. I discovered that because it doesn't work right on my wife's phone, but I turned it off in mine too. I don't really need or want that reminder to unplug my charger.
     
    NiceGuysFinishLast likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...