1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Why is phandroid trying to download a file to my PC?

Discussion in 'Suggestion Box & Feedback' started by Anchor, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. Anchor

    Anchor Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    24
    0
    15
    Today when I tried to go to phandroid.com the site kept trying to downlaod a file to my PC instead of taking me to the site? What's up wtih this?

    The file is phandroid_com.gz

    Anyone know what's going on? :eek:
     

    Advertisement

  2. cdandrews

    cdandrews Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    30
    4
    36
    Lexington, NC
    Got the same thing on my Incredible. File name is different though.
     
  3. ironman666

    ironman666 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    71
    10
    18
    Norway
    I thought it was only me. Wtf? is this a virus or spyware?
    Pops up in both IE and Firefox
     
  4. Sjla2kology101

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    42
    0
    15
    painter/ free lance web designer.
    Oregon City
    Pops up for me in Chrome...
     
  5. rtb35

    rtb35 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    521
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    521
    131
    93
    I just got the same thing when clicking on a link in the rockplayerbase thread just below this one,it was created by phandroid.

    Just checked and all the threads created by phandroid are linking to a file that asks to be downloaded.
     
  6. roscuthiii

    roscuthiii Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    161
    7
    36
    Physical Security Access Control Officer - or a se
    WA
    So, when trying to go to Phandroid.com I get a pop up to download a file.
    Says it's called:
    phandroid_com.gz
    WinZip File, 12.4 KB

    Am I the only one getting this??? I tried going to the "Contact Us" link to let them know what was happening and I basically get the same message.
    At least the forums and apps links work.
     
  7. Scouter

    Scouter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    18
    0
    35
    Electrical Controls Tech
    Vancouver, WA
    It seems like the site has been hacked into. Has anybody been brave enough to run the file?
     
  8. caustic

    caustic Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Maybe it's a picture of steve jobs
     
  9. fussgeist

    fussgeist Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010

    Mar 14, 2010
    22
    0
    15
    keeps trying to use WinRAR to open it.
     
  10. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    174
    10
    38
    Northern California
    Yeah. I'm getting it too.
    mine is titled download.gz
     
  11. tudmf

    tudmf Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    104
    27
    43
  12. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    174
    10
    38
    Northern California
    Avast doesn't flag the file...
     
  13. Nearly

    Nearly Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    33
    2
    36
    It's an unnamed file but it just renames itself to download ? what is this ?
     
  14. tlgemxx

    tlgemxx Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    8
    1
    6
    Same thing says Im trying to open a GZ file :thinking:
    This site has been screwy for the last week
     
  15. AdrianC14

    AdrianC14 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    776
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009

    Dec 29, 2009
    776
    62
    78
    California
  16. bad05gtt

    bad05gtt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    76
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    76
    3
    16
    factory
    Pa
    same thing here...thought it was my computer !!!!
     
  17. yRRot

    yRRot Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010

    Jun 21, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I get the download pop-up in my computer browser, however, I was able to view the site from my Droid (Dolphin) just fine.

    Strange.
     
  18. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    782
    99
    78
    Edge of Insanity
  19. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,030
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,030
    20,382
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    Working on it.

    Try now: Clicky
     
  20. Phases

    Phases Community Manager
    Administrator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,503
    Posts:
    9,030
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008

    Sep 9, 2008
    9,030
    20,382
    1,503
    Male
    IT, Vbulletin and Xenforo Administrator
    Nashville, TN
    Clear your cache and try again..
     
    Scouter likes this.
  21. WARRIIOR

    WARRIIOR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    157
    30
    43
    It's a secret
    East Coast
    I thought the exact same thing, I even rebooted my computer just to make sure...that didn't help.
     
  22. Palyriot

    Palyriot Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    12
    1
    16
    It wasn't a virus or anything. It was just gzipped file the contained the HTML to the website.
     
  23. Scouter

    Scouter Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    18
    0
    35
    Electrical Controls Tech
    Vancouver, WA
    All better. Thanks
     
  24. bryston

    bryston Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009

    Dec 26, 2009
    33
    1
    16
    Just use your freaking eris duh!
     
  25. MrChips

    MrChips Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    Your browser is telling their server that it accepts gzip compressed transmissions. Their server, in turn, is zipping up the page before it sends it to you. Your browser is getting the gzipped headers of the transmission and is looking for a helper app to display the contents. No helper app is specified in your browser so it prompts you to download it.

    What has gone wrong? The header sent to indicate the compression by the server is either not recognized by your client or your client is erroneously reporting that it can handle the gzipped content when it cannot.
     
    IOWA likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...