• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Clone ESN to use Sprint phone on Virgin Mobile

Status
Not open for further replies.

PieBob1010

Jun 15, 2011
Alright first off I would like to say please no flaming, trolling, etc for what I am about to ask. I realize it is a fairly extreme concept and I have no idea if it is possible. Keep in mind I have no coding experience, but I am fairly proficient in understanding how these things work.

Anyways, here is my proposition:
I own a Samsung Intercept for Virgin Mobile. I am currently using the $25 a month unlimited data/texting and 300 minutes plan. I am trying to figure out a way that it would be possible to use a Sprint phone (such as an EVO) on Virgin Mobile's $25 a month plan.
So here's my proposition: would it be possible to strip the ESN from the Intercept, assign it to the Sprint phone, and then have the Sprint phone operate on the Virgin Network?
If this would work, how would I go about doing it? Keep in mind I do not yet own said Sprint phone and I don't want to drop the money to buy it until I am sure this will work.
Also, if this particular method wouldn't work, is there another way I could use a Sprint phone on VM's network?

I wish people would not quote what the "think" the law is and how it is applied. Under the DCMA exceptions, modification of devices for fair use is acceptable. If you are engaging a technology to steal, then you are going to have a problem. If you are using a technology for fair use (modding your phone and paying for the service) then you are covered under the DCMA. If I create a backup phone, with my ESN and only use one phone at a time, I am not stealing anything. Next thing you know, someone is going to spout off that SIM unlocking your phone is illegal....

Reactions: hiwatt and UnixPimp
Upvote 0