Official MetroPCS BYOD discussion thread


Last Updated:

  1. elcocho852

    elcocho852 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    37
    @mike28
    They told you that because they are just going to switch your plan to the current 60 dollar unlimited 4g plan which doesn't include rhapsody.
     

    Advertisement
    mike28 likes this.
  2. mike28

    mike28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Good question lol
     
  3. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,960
    Likes Received:
    418
    I thought so. :D

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
    mike28 likes this.
  4. mike28

    mike28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    That's correct
     
  5. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Just a little off topic but damn that was a sweet drifting vid. Though to be honest at first I thought he was going to lose his shit.
     
  6. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,960
    Likes Received:
    418
    new optimus likes this.
  7. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
  8. BigKeenan

    BigKeenan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    11
    So today I went to a metropcs authorized dealer. Although they had all of the byod posters and what not on the walls, they haven't received any sim cards yet. Anybody else experience this?
     
  9. MrGlowy

    MrGlowy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    134
    Nvm
     
  10. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
  11. MrGlowy

    MrGlowy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    134
    Luckily I live in one
     
  12. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5,383
    Likes Received:
    5,065
    skip the play at best, its basically the sgs3 international (but with a much lesser used cpu/gpu). the life one/view if you are gunna go with them. the life view has a 5.7 inch screen

    [​IMG]
    here is a comparison of the phone sizes, i went with the sgs3 due to more of you knowing its size. the life one is a note2 sized device, while teh view is more of a note 3/mega 5.9. its also 300 bucks and at that price id honestly consider the nexus 4.

    blu is cool and looks nice but without lte and a known brand you are never certain on how often it will get updates/root/cm etc...
     
    Twin Prime likes this.
  13. fabdogg

    fabdogg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    does anyone know if a htc one x will work? also i live in sacramento but BYOD is not here yet but it is in san francisco, so can i activate it in san francisco and use it in sacramento? thanks in advance...
     
  14. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    The one x does not have the 1700 frequency which is what most of tmobile hspa runs on, however sacramento has some refarming so it would work partially, plus the one x has LTE so if that is available that works.

    check specs here and check if your street has a refarmed tower here


     
  15. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    57
    I live down the street from a refarmed tower.. and theres a bunch in my area but none are covering my home..would i still get lte as its a general area or does it have to cover my house?
     
  16. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    Do you know where the LTE towers are? have you checked Coverage Maps | Sensorly to see if anyone has mapped lte near your home?

    And finally do you have a phone you can test with?
     
    Bishop99 likes this.
  17. Bishop99

    Bishop99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thanks for that link! According to that, I have a MetroPCS 4G, tower I guess, on the next street from where I live. When I switched it over to the T-mobile 4g, the tower was about a mile away. I currently have a 3g Metro PCS phone so I can't test out any 4g speeds, but I'm interested in seeing what speeds I can get once I upgrade to the GS4.

    Right now on my 3g phone, I average about 0.72 mbps to 1.15 mpbs during the day from my home, and at nights I average about 1.30 mpbs to 1.70 mpbs. Highest I got was 1.91 mpbs.
     
  18. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    It's not showing towers its showing the signal at that point.
     
    Bishop99 likes this.
  19. Bishop99

    Bishop99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    17
    I see. Thanks!
     
  20. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    yes sensorly shows where people are and to an extent the strength of the signal when they map it.

    So if your seeing dark color on the next street over thats a strong signal. Light color means very low signal.
     
    Bishop99 likes this.
  21. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    57

    No idea where there tmob lte towers are ...

    no I don't have a phone to test with but I checked the page you provided and there's good amounts of tmob 4G around me..
     
  22. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    57
    showing very light 4G for tmobile in my surrounding neighborhood
     
  23. new optimus

    new optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4,199
    Likes Received:
    1,454
    If there shows good amounts around you then using a lte phone you should be good.

    Your fall back may only be edge if the refarmed tower isnt close though.
     
  24. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    What phone would you be using?
     
  25. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    57
    Lol i just mapped my whole area in 4g metro..lol..kinda fun
     

Share This Page

Loading...