1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General A thought about Touch Wiz

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by rm2092, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. rm2092

    rm2092 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    113
    9
    56
    First I'll start by saying that I have had the iPad and just sold that and I also have the Playbook witch I think the multitasking is the best out all three formats. I have been thinking of buying the 10.1 tab because of the size and today I had the chance to play with one at my local Best Buy that had the Touch Wiz installed. Anyways I was playing with the floating widgets and I have noticed there is a X on each corner to close the app, why did Android not incorporate that into all there apps so we would not have the need for a Task Manager to close apps, its similar to what Blackberry did with the Playbook. Anyways just my thoughts...
     

    Advertisement

  2. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    I think a better option would be a pop up asking if we want to close app or continue running whenever home button is pressed. I usually back out of all my apps so they don't run in background but I have noticed that most people will just hit the home button.
     
  3. geetechfever

    geetechfever Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    80
    2
    36
    Great idea.
    I'm also bothered a lot by this inconvenient feature on Android OS. I think it might work by writing a couple codes to modify the system on purpose. I tried but failed. Sorry, still a little new to the Android OS. Hope some one can do that.
     
  4. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    I didn't see any close option. I think you mean the re-size for the widgets which can be stretched to various shapes?
     
  5. Angelsfan

    Angelsfan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    64
    11
    18
    Anaheim, Ca
    I believe he's talking about the Samsung touchwiz apps. The ones you can pull up any time. They have an "X" in the upper right hand corner. I think only the 6 apps that came with touchwiz have this. ...and only if they are opened using the middle arrow on the task bar.
     
  6. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    Ah, ok...
     
  7. rm2092

    rm2092 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    113
    9
    56
    Correct.
     
  8. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    782
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    782
    99
    78
    Edge of Insanity
    Because in Android, apps don't actually continue running when exited. They are frozen in state, ready to start up again when opened. The only exceptions to this would be apps that are allowed to transmit/receive data while closed. There is no need to "end" the app because it isn't consuming any system resources when exited by the user. This is my understanding anyways.
     
  9. bfksc

    bfksc Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,262
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010

    Aug 29, 2010
    1,262
    201
    143
    Canada
    That's close enough...and yes there is no need for task killers, android takes very good care of resources.
     
  10. alackman

    alackman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    336
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    336
    36
    43
    london
    maybe an exception to this would be the stock browser. If left via the home Burton and the Web page you were on has an updating element to it i'm assuming this would drain resources? I like the ability to close browser without pressing back so many times.....this it's why I've always used dolphin browser. Click and hold back button and you know you're out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...