1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Awesome Android Update 4 Released

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shinru2004, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. shinru2004

    shinru2004 Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,812
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011

    Nov 22, 2011
    1,812
    1,571
    333
    Male
    Charlestown
    I'm alive!!!! I promise there will be more to come. As for aokp and pacman ROM its at a stand still same as cm10. Once something is learned on that front I will pick back up on it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. don1quijote

    don1quijote Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013

    Mar 20, 2013
    10
    2
    16
    Male
    Texas
    I knew you were not dead! :)
     
  3. randjav15

    randjav15 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    83
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012

    Jun 24, 2012
    83
    8
    16
    Worcester, MA
    It would be appreciated if Update 4 was released, or maybe you could change the title back, because everytime I come to this forum, it still raises some anticipation, and i'm kind of sad that i can'r have it, even though you had it up, and then you took it down :(
     
  4. jmrichky

    jmrichky Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013

    Jan 20, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I noticed a little something with the VM notifications.....If data is turned off, notifications work but as soon as you turn data back on the notification disappears. Hope this helps!
     
  5. acharlest

    acharlest Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012

    Jun 26, 2012
    38
    10
    18
    Customer Retention
    Cincinnati, OH
    Every time I try to install this, the home button does not work at all. I had my phone replaced and it still does it on my new one. Any ideas?
     
  6. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Yeah, ya gotta install gapps. Read installation directions for ROM and follow EXACTLY. You'll be good to go. :smokingsomb:
     
    acharlest likes this.
  7. uniqdevi1

    uniqdevi1 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012

    Nov 30, 2012
    92
    5
    26
    Male
    Fontana, CA
    I couldn't of said it any better my self. Agreed:)
     
    boricuakiller likes this.
  8. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Shinru? :dontknow: U there? :bawling: (lol) where'd ya GO?! :captain: We NEED U! :adore:
     
  9. mrleroybrown

    mrleroybrown Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012

    Dec 28, 2012
    206
    19
    38
    Male
    Goat Herder
    Somewhere east of the mississippi
    Randjav, if it eases your worried mind any the update 4 is not any noticeably different than the third update (no disrespect to our dear friend Shin of course).
     
  10. D34DBre4kr

    D34DBre4kr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    431
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2013

    Jan 30, 2013
    431
    41
    43
    Male
    In fact it makes more things stock it changes the default messager and the people app back to normal among other things
     
  11. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    I was looking forward to the fact he said he fixed everything, including voicemail O:) :D. :angel:
     
  12. boricuakiller

    boricuakiller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    1,157
    73
    128
    Male
    muisic producer at bad seed family
    puerto rico
    i have update 4 no voicemail fix no wifi thetered fix either
     
  13. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
  14. boricuakiller

    boricuakiller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    1,157
    73
    128
    Male
    muisic producer at bad seed family
    puerto rico
    also i figure out whats is the problem with the camera being upside down if u flash just the rom camera will be ok after u flashed updates camera will upside down shin can u check it out thanks
     
  15. mooreapi

    mooreapi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    Michigan, USA
    Anybody else having a problem where hitting the power button to turn on the lock screen seems sluggish or doesn't always respond? Then when the lock screen does pop up, it's sometimes unresponsive or takes a second, or several, to actually unlock the phone and go to the home screen?
    I am running AA-RC1, kernel 3.08

    I tried a search to search this thread, but could not find anything like this, but I did not read through all 19 pages..yet

    If I reboot, it goes back to normal...this seems to happen only after phone has been on for several days straight

    Matt
     
  16. bobdamnit

    bobdamnit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jul 31, 2011
    401
    91
    63
    It happens to me as well on this ROM. A quick reboot usually fixes it.

    People have been saying that this doesn't happen on the new stock B09, so I'm going to give that a shot soon after I make a nandroid backup.
     
    mooreapi likes this.
  17. money15

    money15 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    492
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012

    Jun 4, 2012
    492
    75
    53
    Male
    Bid Coordinator/Shipping
    Bainbridge, NY
    This Rom is based on b07 which has a memory leak doesn't matter which kernel

    Sent from my N861 using Tapatalk 2
     
    mooreapi likes this.
  18. arnandtara

    arnandtara Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    323
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012

    Oct 6, 2012
    323
    68
    53
    Which link is the actual ROM? Is it RC-1?
     
  19. boricuakiller

    boricuakiller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012

    Aug 30, 2012
    1,157
    73
    128
    Male
    muisic producer at bad seed family
    puerto rico
  20. bcrichster

    bcrichster ROMinator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,063
    Posts:
    7,065
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013

    Jan 23, 2013
    7,065
    5,631
    1,063
    Male
    Electrical, Electronics
    Florida
    Yes
     
  21. mooreapi

    mooreapi Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    32
    3
    16
    Michigan, USA
    Thanks bobdamnit and money15.
    I used B09 briefly before rooting, but had an issue with not having MMS notification sounds anymore. that's why I rooted, otherwise had no real problems with stock B09...but being able to get the audible alerts for text messages is important for me as sometimes I get texts that need time sensitive responses...and I might not be able to see my screen and the notification LED all the time...

    Matt
     
  22. bobdamnit

    bobdamnit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    401
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011

    Jul 31, 2011
    401
    91
    63
    That happens on all the stock ZTE ROMs. For some reason, it won't play your notification tone, but the screen/LED will both light up.

    The only work around I have found is to force the phone to vibrate on text messages. Even if it doesn't ring, it will always vibrate. (This has been my experience anyway.)

    To force the phone to vibrate on texts, open the Messaging app, hit the menu key, select Settings. Scroll down to "vibrate" and make sure "always" is selected.

    At least this way you will feel the messages, and won't have to rely on hearing them. (Get ready though. You'll be feeling them "phantom vibrations" from your phone eventually. Its a legit phenomena. Look it up lol)
     
  23. joshythefirst

    joshythefirst Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013

    Feb 7, 2013
    11
    3
    16
    Male
    Overnight Stoker @WalMart
    Somewhere In Zion
    Hey you, creator! Thanks for being ******* awesome! (Sorry for my lang). But this is the best rom/update I have ever used. At first I had no idea how to flash the rom and the updates. but i figured it out without bricking my phone. Again you are amazing. Great mind you have there. It works so smooth with my phone. I love it. But i do have one question! After I'm done with all off this flashing and stuff. Can i delete the file from my "SD Card" and do a back up of the rom with all the updates. Or should I just keep them on the "SD Card". Mind you I am keeping them on my computer.
     
  24. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    you can delete them from your sd card after they have been flashed, and you can make a backup through cwm with all the updates :)
     
  25. KOD_Tha_Legend

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    21
    1
    16
    Have you included the kernel in the the ROM already or is it using the Stock Kernel??
     

Share This Page

Loading...