1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Cant boot into Recovery(clockwork)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by tu3218, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. tu3218

    tu3218 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    So I downloaded one of chevys kernel an I was going to install this kernel hoping for better battery life. Before I did, I tried booting into recovery and all I got was the M symbol. I then tried flashing alternate recovery(sprecovery) and then went to boot into recovery an that still didn't work. Does anyone have any suggestions? I don't know if its related to that download of the kernel or what. But this is very frustrating knowing I don't have recovery.
     

    Advertisement

  2. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    I suggest downloading ROM manager in the market and at the top of the main menu, is an option to flash Clockwork recovery. If it still doesn't work, scroll down to the bottom of the main menu to "All ClockworkMod Recoveries" and try a different version. I've had this problem before and re-flashing with ROM manager has fixed it every time so far.
     
  3. tu3218

    tu3218 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I do have ROM Manager. I just flashed an older version of clockwork mod(2.0.2.4) an tried flashing into recovery an that didn't work. Am I suppose to flash back now to the latest version?
     
  4. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Just downloading the kernel could not possibly interfere with recovery software.

    As the previous post mentions, you might want to download ROM manager (if you don't already have it) and flash ClockworkMod Recovery.

    Although it's not the same problem as yours, it's pretty common for people to have to flash back and forth between SPRecovery and ClockworkMod Recovery whenever a new version of CWM recovery comes out.

    My best guess would be that you already have ROM Manager and have recently updated it and reflashed CWM Recovery. It's common for this to break recovery until you flash SP Recovery and flash back to CWM.
     
  5. tu3218

    tu3218 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I did try flashing to SP Recovery and that didn't work either.
     
  6. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Flash back to Clockwork Mod.
     
  7. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    722
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010

    Jan 26, 2010
    722
    108
    93
    US Army - 25B (I.T. Specialist)
    Ft. Knox, KY
    Did you try flashing 2.5.0.1 (the newest version)? If it still doesn't try after flashing that, maybe try the "Fix Permissions" option in ROM Manager..? I have no idea if that touches the recovery partition or not, but I'm sure it can't hurt to try.
     
    cyberclaus likes this.
  8. tu3218

    tu3218 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    still nothing...I read somewhere someone had this problem and was doing it back an forth an clockwork eventually worked even though SP Recovery didn't. I don't know what else to try in the mean time. I could try what T4rd said. What about clearing the download cache? Or uninstalling then reinstalling Rom Manager?
     
  9. nstallion

    nstallion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,152
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    1,152
    136
    143
    San Diego, CA
    Yeah try different versions of Clockwork and whatever else you can think of. I've never had the problem myself but some people have had to flash back and forth several times, or try older versions.
     
  10. Kerplunk

    Kerplunk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    22
    1
    16
    its been said but i figure i'll share my story. This happened to me a few hours ago. I fixed it by uninstalling/reinstalling clockwork then I flashed an old version of clockwork 2.1 or 2.0 something and then i went back and flashed to the most recent version. Afterward, i selected the option to boot into recovery mode and it worked.

    i still dont know why there was the error in the first place. it might have something to do with SPrecovery, all i know is that my recovery menu is green now instead of blue.
     
  11. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,891
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,891
    6,120
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    Yep, had this happen while I was trying to install a new theme. Funny enough, ROM Manager now has a little pop up telling you it couldn't boot into recovery and offered a couple suggestions. I never had luck with the whole flashing back to SPR and then to CW, but flashing a previous build of CW worked. Try all of them. Also, manually booting into recovery (Power+"x") might also help. Good luck.
     
  12. FuhxTehAppelz

    FuhxTehAppelz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010

    Mar 3, 2010
    57
    0
    15
    Cincinnati
    Funny, but after nearly 50 roms sprecovery 0.99.2b has never failed me once. ...knock on wood...
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    Clockwork hasnt failed either. This is a failure in the process of flashing a new recovery. It can happen when flashing to SPR just as easy as flashing to Clockwork. The difference is the clockwork gets updated so its flashed more often
     
  14. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I haven't been able to successfully flash ClockworkMod Recovery (which I LOVE) for days now, ever since the v2.5.0.1 recovery update came out. I tried flashing back and forth between alternate recoveries over and over again, and flashing the same Clockwork recovery several times, tried all of the other Clockwork recoveries (again, multiple times). What I've discovered through all of this is that if the recovery takes a long time to flash, then it's not successful. I was finally able to get A recovery by flashing SPRecovery successive times. I have to say that, while I was utterly grateful for having a recovery of any kind again, it really reaffirmed why I hate using SPR compared to Clockwork, since I tried out a number of new kernels while using it and had to rename each of them to update.zip and move them to the root of my SD card each time -- wow, what a pain!

    What FINALLY worked for me today was running Pete's fix permissions update.zip (which I'm not recommending unless you're on BB) using SPRecovery, then uninstalling and reinstalling ROM Manager. Then, I flashed the latest version of ClockworkMod (2.5.0.1) once and it took a really long time, then immediately again and it flashed very quickly. Lo and behold, I'm in Clockwork recovery right now, getting ready to run a new backup. Woot!!

    I won't be updating ClockworkMod recovery again any time soon.
     
  15. teknotronik

    teknotronik Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    The issue is with Clockwork Recovery 2.5.0.1 and up!
    All you need to do is reflash 2.5.0.0 and you are set!
     

Share This Page

Loading...