1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Can't send texts, can't send calls

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by deWize, Sep 4, 2016.

  1. deWize

    deWize Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016

    Sep 4, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Male
    Hey everyone.
    I'm having issues with my phone, but like, a lot of issues. So you see, it all started yesterday. I reset my phone for various reasons. Everything was fine. But, when it was finished, I couldn't send texts or calls. Everything else works... I thought so at least. Most apps started bugging, which is extremely annoying. Randomly, I get messages like " com.android.phone has stopped " " com.process.gapps has stopped " " com.novalauncher has stopped " and " com.settings has stopped ". So I just am forced to reboot my phone because I can't get on the home menu, if I do, can't open the settings and I if I can open them, it closes. EVERYTHING else works perfect fine, from emulators to whatever else I use. I thought it could have been my root. So I unrooted my phone. Nope. I really need help.
    To sum up, here's all I get
    Emergency Calls Only. Tho my phone detects my SIM card perfect fine.
    All the process that I listed up there. It's annoying as hell.
     

    Advertisement

  2. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,486
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Have you tried reflashing the stock firmware?
    What phone do you have?
     
  3. deWize

    deWize Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016

    Sep 4, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Male
    Well, I use a Wiko Lenny 2 . The processes have been fixed by simply clearing the cache. I noticed though that I sometimes a message that says " Invalid IMEI " what's that ?
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,834
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,834
    16,252
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    International Mobile Equipment Identifier. It identifies the handset to the network. It's also used by networks to bar stolen phones, or phones that have been blacklisted for other reasons (insurance scame, breach of contract). Invalid IMEI is a bit worrying, as if that is genuine it could result in your phone being unable to connect to the network (depends on exactly what is wrong and your carrier's systems). A factory reset or cache clearing shouldn't affect it, but I've heard of some brands where some root modifications can result in it being wiped (never heard of Wiko, so no idea in their case). Seems an odd thing to be an intermittent message though.
     
  5. deWize

    deWize Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016

    Sep 4, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Male
    It sometimes appears instead of Emergency Calls Only.
     
  6. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,094
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,094
    14,054
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Frankly that sounds like a problem with the phone's baseband, which would certainly tie-up with the emergency calls only. Invalid or no IMEI, means it can't connect with the carrier.

    Is the phone still under warranty? If it isn't, could try re-flashing it, if that's possible.
     
    MLSS likes this.
  7. deWize

    deWize Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016

    Sep 4, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Male
    Rooted it, I guess it means no more warranty.
     
  8. MLSS

    MLSS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    2,245
    Joined:
    May 20, 2013

    May 20, 2013
    2,245
    1,486
    413
    Male
    Director of a non profit
    Nelsonville, Ohio
    Just flash the stock firmware and unroot
     
    Hadron likes this.
  9. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,834
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,834
    16,252
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    But if it is one where the IMEI can be corrupted it might be good to find out how to fix that before doing anything else (in case e.g. you need to be rooted to fix it).

    Certainly I'd check the IMEI (Settings > About > Phone identity on my phone) and see what the phone currently thinks it is. It should be a 15 digit number.
     
    MLSS likes this.
  10. deWize

    deWize Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016

    Sep 4, 2016
    5
    1
    16
    Male
    OK. Since my phone is rooted, I decided to first try to fix the IMEI. Worked, apparently they got erased at some point, no IMEI.
     
    Hadron likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...