1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Changing icons without launcher?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by richwhite, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. richwhite

    richwhite Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    109
    3
    36
    Back when i had the S2 I used Go Launcher, but I really like the options in the Note 2 - S Pen, motions and so on, so i don't want to install a launcher and lose those functions. However, I would like to change the icon set - is this only possible with a launcher?

    Also, i'm coming from Windows Phone, so used to a phone that lights up when i get an SMS (WP uses toast notifications), but the Note 2 will make a notification sound, but not show me who it's from. Any way to activate that?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Desktop Visualizer turns icon packs into widgets (well, each icon must be set as a widget, a bit time consuming), so works with any stock launcher including TouchWiz.
     
  3. richwhite

    richwhite Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    109
    3
    36
    Interesting, thanks.
    So I can download any icon pack regardless of the launcher it's for?

    If they're set as widgets, do they use more battery and can they still be put into folders?
     
  4. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,686
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,686
    423
    183
    You can still use the S Pen apps and functions with a 3rd party laucher. You won't lose anything. Well, maybe the stock Widgets as they don't resize properly. I use Nova Launcher Prime and can still use multiwindow as well as S Pen gestures.
     
  5. richwhite

    richwhite Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    109
    3
    36
    Ah, perfect! So everything works just the same, except certain widget sizes?

    (Not heard of Nova before getting the Note 2, any standout features over GoLauncher etc?)
     
  6. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
     #135
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,686
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,686
    423
    183
    User preference really. I really like Nova and have no complaints with. There is a free version of it if you want to play with it. Or if GoLauncher works for you, that's fine too. ;)
     
  7. richwhite

    richwhite Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    109
    3
    36
    well I used GL two years ago, and now using touchwiz so open to all of them. my only concern is not overriding the Samsung features
     
  8. richwhite

    richwhite Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    109
    3
    36
    OK I have installed nova launcher and really like it, but one concern is that when I went to add a widget for Falcon Pro it wants me to let it access my twitter data. Should I be worried about that?
     
  9. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    Let it, as in Nova Launcher is wanting access to your Twitter data?

    Are you sure it's not Falcon Pro asking you for that? According to the play-store info, it says this in the description:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/...t=W251bGwsMSwxLDMsImNvbS5qdi5mYWxjb24ucHJvIl0.
     
  10. richwhite

    richwhite Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011

    Jul 23, 2011
    109
    3
    36
    definitely nova, it says it will let it access all data for all widgets basically.

    (also, when I click to add widgets, there is a big delay before the list of available widgets opens. is this normal? )
     
  11. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    That's interesting. I've never received that notification when trying to set a widget (then again, I wonder if it has anything to do with Prime vs. Free version).

    As for slight delay before all available widgets open...yes. You can also access all the widgets through the app drawer and drag and drop from there. I've noticed less lag going that route (but I don't mind the lag so much).
     
  12. Trainelu

    Trainelu Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011

    Sep 9, 2011
    15
    5
    16

Share This Page

Loading...