1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Google Wallet - No Root Needed :)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Andhily, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,715
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    3,715
    542
    213
    So you guys are side loading Google wallet and using it? I dunno, but Id rather not using something like this unless it came directly from Google/VZW via OTA etc.
     

    Advertisement

  2. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    That mentality certainly has merit. I did some more digging and on a phone call with Google, we definitely touched on the subject of it not being an official app for this phone yet. It's an app released for a different Nexus on a different network that has been modified to work on our phone. Who knows what other modifications have been made, and what it's doing in the background? It seems pretty safe so far, and most devs on XDA who own this phone and want the service seem comfortable using it. In addition, it runs without root access, so at least there's a bit of piece of mind there.

    But of course, it never hurts to err on the side of caution. I certainly wouldn't fault you for waiting until Verizon hopefully eventually, and of course most magnanimously, permits Google to release Google's own payment app on Google's own pure phone.
     
  3. ryknoll3

    ryknoll3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    44
    14
    18
    I've been using it and it's worked perfectly up until now, but I tried to use it at CVS today for a $52 purchase, and it worked fine up until the clerk asked for the last for digits on the card. I'm using the Google pre-paid card. I open the app, tap on the card and show the "user ID" or whatever it's called, which is 16 digits formatted like a credit card #. I give her the last 4, but it wouldn't go through. She tried twice and then it declined the card because of the unsuccessful attempts. I had to use a different card I had on me.

    Anyone else run into someone asking for last 4 digits before?

    I think I will use up $60 I have on the card and uninstall it. It's a pain to have to load it all the time, I don't get the same points that I get with my regular credit card and if I can't use it for larger dollar purchases, that will be a pain as well. I also don't like to be a nuisance to people in line behind me while I stand there trying to get this cool, but mostly gimmicky (for now) payment system to work.
     
  4. clb2196

    clb2196 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    652
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011

    Mar 1, 2011
    652
    120
    93
    Just made a $72 purchase at CVS with no issues. They didn't ask for last 4, but I did have to sign.
     
  5. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    I just plan to charge it once and a while with funds for eating out and such. It will keep me on a budget, and for small purchases it will save me time - no signing, no pulling my wallet out. Just swipe the phone and eat. I can use it at places like McDonald's and Jack in the Box and it won't be tied to any of my actual bank accounts or anything.
     
  6. jackmo56

    jackmo56 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Alright guys, I just installed this on my GN and I couldn't figure out where to look for the $10, it wasn't showing anywhere, I ended up clicking on "payment cards" and swiping over to "add Google Prepaid Card" and tapped on it, than after a few seconds it said "$10.00 remaining". I thought the funds would show up automatically but for me I had to go thru that extra step, was this the same for everyone else? I haven't tried it yet but so far so good.
     
  7. edhgreatone

    edhgreatone Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    139
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    139
    6
    36
    This is correct ... you have to hit the Google + to register for your $10 free bucks
     
  8. adjuster11

    adjuster11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    147
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011

    Nov 8, 2011
    147
    50
    73
    Insurance adjuster
    Colorado
  9. Schex13

    Schex13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    134
    27
    43
    VA
    I know for me, I'll see if I can reload the Google pre-paid card with a Visa gift card that I got for Christmas. That way it's not my info that can really be taken, as far as I know. In the future I might go the same path to reload it -- buying a Visa gift card from a place that doesn't charge a fee for it

    My concern is about people having trouble with it on custom ROMs or even when the official 4.0.3 update comes out, so I don't know how much I'm willing to sink into it that it would take some doing to get back if the app breaks in an update.

    For me, today, it was just awesome to say "My phone just bought my Slurpee!"
     
    soy.lor.n likes this.
  10. SirKronan

    SirKronan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,292
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010

    Aug 26, 2010
    1,292
    196
    143
    Psychosocial rehabilitation specialist
    In a house
    I was in McDonald's again. I remembered that one of the McDonald's in my town has those pay pass things but they don't work, so I briefly asked if they worked while ordering. When told that they for sure do, I finished ordering, pulled my phone out of my pocket, and stuck it on the pay pass terminal. The young guy running the register started to speak.

    Cashier: "Um, sir, I don't think that's going to wor..."

    Register: "BEEP".

    Cashier: "Oh. It worked. Wow."

    Look on cashier's face? Priceless.

    I love this darn phone. :D
     
  11. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    548
    59
    78

    i had a similar experience at mcdonalds last week...

    counter lady: "are you doing something with your phone there? <after the register beeped and receipt started printing> what?!??!?!? what the hell did you just do?!!!??!?!?"

    :)
     
  12. indianajonze

    indianajonze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    123
    24
    38
    New Jersey
    for a real hoot tell them you just hacked their system. i got out of there just as they were deciding whether or not to call the police
     
  13. umataro42

    umataro42 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    310
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    310
    66
    53
    Male
    San Pedro, CA
    Just installed and got my free $10 credit. Since I use my credit cards for their rewards, I'll probably wait until Google Wallet works withe cards I have instead of signing up for a Citi MC (which I used to have but cancelled). I might reload the Google card to use for quick payments at 7-11 or Rite-Aid though.
     
  14. ebe3692

    ebe3692 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    154
    294
    88
    tried it for the first time today at Mickey D's and it didnt work
    so disappointing. :(
    placed it on the paypass, it opened to wallet. I entered pin, put it back on.
    it said payment sent, and then went to a screen saying it didnt go through and to try again or talk to cashier.
    tried again and still no go.
    ended up having to use my card which worked just fine on the paypass thing.
     
  15. Ciggy

    Ciggy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    210
    24
    38
    If i root and re install wallet will my 20 balance remain or should i spend it?
     
  16. DucatiDude

    DucatiDude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    Priceless...
     
  17. ebe3692

    ebe3692 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    154
    294
    88
    this is what I was worried about: Google Wallet's Secure Element Not Responding Error Explained
    I think flashing new ROMs may screw up the secure element. I plan to stick with a stock ROM but I'm a bit nervous about whether this will happen when the next OTA comes out and I try flashing an update.
     
  18. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    I hope Google has a fix for this that doesn't involve me getting another Galaxy Nexus.

    Edit: I've been doing a bit of digging, and I might have a possible solution.

    From Google's Wallet FAQ
    I'm too concerned to test this myself, but I wonder if resetting Google Wallet before flashing a new ROM or installing OS updates would prevent it from being locked out of the secure element.
     
  19. ebe3692

    ebe3692 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    154
    294
    88
    Good find. I'm definitely going to wait and let others go first before I try updating but it sounds like a possible workaround.
     
  20. drdoom

    drdoom Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    959
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    959
    183
    93
    College Student
    North Carolina
    Anyone brave enough to try this method to see if it works? :D
     
  21. Keyan

    Keyan Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    63
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010

    Nov 28, 2010
    63
    60
    33
    NNJ
    i had the same issue.

    try opening wallet before hand and typing in your pin, and THEN putting up to the paypass sensor.
     
  22. Ciggy

    Ciggy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010

    Feb 26, 2010
    210
    24
    38

    Did it anyway. Yes my money remained, same phone, same rom. Just rooted.
     
  23. DucatiDude

    DucatiDude Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    215
    44
    43
    So, if we root and change ROMS's does that boink Wallet? Meaning it will never work again on that phone and we lose our money?
     
  24. WishinItWas

    WishinItWas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    167
    29
    43
    Mechanical Engineer
    New York City
    I had wallet on mine unrooted, only had the free $10 balance on it thought, I unlocked/rooted and when I reinstalled it came up with the $10 balance and no issues ...I forgot to check if the ID number changed at all.

    I put an additional $20 on it the other day and tried it out for the first time today at Mac-D's no issues at all!

    I still am curious about all of the questions raised about switching roms etc.
     
  25. ebe3692

    ebe3692 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    154
    294
    88
    I have definitely heard of people changing ROMs without getting the error.

    But there is clearly some sequence that triggers a secure element error- its complicated because some roms come with it pre-installed and some not, some ppl are using titanium, others nandroid, upgrading to same rom vs switching ROMs - too many variables and it is unclear what causes the error.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...