1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] How to root the Wildfire S with S-ON

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CafeKampuchia, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia

    Advertisement

    Caro332 likes this.
  2. aliasgherms

    aliasgherms Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013

    Feb 20, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Hello...
    i want to ask something as i can see u xpert in this forum
    kindly tell me how to degrade android 4.0.4 to 2.3..
    My HTC wildfire is rooted and i have installed 4.0.4 in it...kindly help me out and also tell me from where to download android OS?
     
  3. Katsu999

    Katsu999 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012

    Aug 17, 2012
    7
    0
    5
    Back in October I followed the procedure here, it worked perfectly (CM7 20120707) and I have been very happy for 6 months!

    Tuesday morning it had a black screen, no lights and no buttons.
    Would not soft boot.
    Removed battery, rebooted - HTC came up for 20seconds, then black screen.

    Booted to FASTBOOT, and cleared caches, no joy.
    Cleared Dalvik cache, no joy.
    Gave up and did Factory Reset, then cleared all caches, and reset Partition.

    Reinstalled CM7, and all looked OK, but its running like a one-legged horse on Valium. Sicker than a runt street dog.

    Example : I receive a text, but type to reply, and no text comes up onscreen.
    Example : I can receive a phone call ok, but if I try to dial a number, the phone stops for 3 minutes, then the phone app crashes.
    Example : The Wifi seems to fail to reconnect after waking up the screen, a reboot does not help, or doing a 'Forget and Reconnect'.
    And everything is running very slowly and jerkily all the time.

    Is there a step I should do before reinstalling CM7 that will clear things up,

    ...or...

    Do you think a piece of hardware has failed? (RAM or a chip blown?)

    Or any other ideas?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  4. robf355

    robf355 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    Hi

    I am a newbie to wildfire s rooting, had no problem with my samsung phones and tablets, htc seems to be a whole new level!
    Basically, logged onto htcdev and went through the steps, when i entered:
    fastboot oem get_identifier_token, I get:
    ...
    (bootloader) [ERR] Command error !!!
    OKAY [ 0.000s]
    finished. total time: 0.000s

    i searched various forums and it seems that the hboot (v0.90.0000) needs updating but where do I get the update?, this guide (which is very good) mentions a RUU file on the htcdev site, but there aren't any listed.
    at the boot menu the phone screen has the following on it:
    MARVEL PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT-0.9.0000
    MICROP-0451
    RADIO-7.46.35.08
    apr 8 2011
    the phone display changes to FASTBOOTUSB when the computer is connected, and I can send commands to the phone eg fastboot reboot works, so the driver must be ok?
    From reading various forums it appears that hboot V1 is required. Can anyone help, or is it time to give up on trying to root this device?
    Thanks
    rob
     
  5. jairaj

    jairaj Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    33
    1
    16
    unlocked the bootloader,
    but i cant boot into recovery..
    after clicking on recovery, it just goes to the white screen with htc written. I have flashed the correct cwm recovery.

    please help.

    for rooting, can i flash the root script using cmd prompt??
     
  6. jairaj

    jairaj Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012

    Apr 16, 2012
    33
    1
    16
    My issue got resolved, u have to flash the "recovery.img" that is given in the above posts.
    then u can boot into recovery..
     
  7. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    Check here:
    http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s...ock-rom-ruu-after-bricking-rooted-device.html


    I'd restore the stock ROM and see what happens. If no joy, it's probably a hardware issue :(
    http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s...ock-rom-ruu-after-bricking-rooted-device.html


    You definitely must update your hboot. The RUUs to do so are there. Make sure you follow the guide closely and look again.


    +1 ;)
     
    robf355 likes this.
  8. robf355

    robf355 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012

    Dec 29, 2012
    9
    0
    5
    thanks for the reply, thought i was missing something here one ofthew warning popups for some reason skipped the ruu page, hopefully should all be ok now !

    **SORTED**
    had to do a factory reset, then OTA update then bootloader unlocks ok!
     
  9. RSchreurs

    RSchreurs Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013

    Mar 4, 2013
    3
    0
    25
    Male
    Could you elaborate on step:
    I have found references to Titanium Backup, but this requires having a rooted phone, so that doesn't work yet.
     
  10. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    The only backup you can make at this point of time is SMS, pictures, songs, videos, contacts...Just the basic stuff
     
  11. preciadoalex12

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013

    Mar 8, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Califorinia
    Guys, im trying to root my phone for 2 days now and i can't seem for everything to go right.

    First i download HTC sync and Then it tells me that installing the driver failed, and when i use the bootloader it makes my phone go into the bootloader mode then it disconnects from my PC and wont re-connect in boot mode, then ill get an error message from the program that my phone isnt connected, im trying to get the S-off on.. it's currently S-on..

    Sorry if youve been asked this 1,000 times, but trust me, ive researched and tried many ways..
     
  12. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    if HTC sync is not installed, you won't be able to root the phone. Have you also installed the SDK tools?
    If you are having problem installing on your PC, I think it's more of a PC problem than a phone problem. That's also probably why your phone gets disconnected
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  13. DarkraiDan

    DarkraiDan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013

    Mar 17, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    Male
    Student
    Ohio, USA
    This walkthrough worked flawlessly. I may have wasted time trying to flash the RUU when I didn't need to, but my common sense stopped me before I downgraded it.
    But so now I can finally uninstall all the Virgin Mobile bloatware that is completely useless on the phone, along with Twitter.
    Yeah, I wasn't able to uninstall Twitter because Virgin Mobile is like that.
    But because of this, I can delete it.
    Thank you for this wonderful thread.
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  14. ste74

    ste74 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012

    Aug 21, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    hi, ive been looking every where for unlock codes for my htc wildfire, but no joy, its locked to virgin uk but im wondering if rooting is the same as unlocking as im new to this, if so could someone please leave a link so i dont screw this up thank you
     
  15. mailartho

    mailartho Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013

    Mar 22, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    i'm stuck with unlocking bootloader :( , in cmd after i type fastboot oem get_identifier_token , a command appear waiting for device. here's my bootloader stat :

    ***LOCKED***
    MARVEL PVT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT - 1.09.0099
    MICROP - 0451
    RADIO - 7.57.39.10M


    my software number: 2.26.707.2

    i've been following all the step to unlocking bootloader, but i did skip updating hboot step because my hboot is the latest version right? and i didn't install HTC Sync, is that make any problem? since my device was GSM phone, i doubt for using your method.. PLEASE HELP ME!
     
  16. andrey2192

    andrey2192 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Hi. So I did all the steps from unlocking the bootloader to flashing clockworkmod. I think all went good, after I installed CWM, rebooted the phone, downloaded and put the root.zip file on the SD card. But when I go into hboot, and try to run Recovery, my phone remains block in the htc white screen, as in the first screen when you power up the phone. White background, and htc written in green. Any ideas how much time should be like this or if it is ok? Thanks..


    Update: I managed to boot into recovery, selected, install zip from sd card, but after remains block in the hat screen...and doesn't prompt me to choose the root.zip file.
     
  17. Empir3

    Empir3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Okay thanks for the guide bro! it's awesome but i just had this problem... so i want to flash root.zip and when i do in the recovery menu (TeamWin Recovery v2.3.3.0) it says it failed well actually it says exactly this:
    E: Error in /sdcard/root.zip
    (status 2)
    Error flashin zip '/sdcard/root
    Updating partition details...
    Installing ' /sdcard/root.zip
    Checking for MD5 file...
    E:No MD5 file found for '/sdcard
    Disable force MD5 check to avoid
    Error flashing zip '/sdcard/root
    Updating partition details...

    please help me out :(
     
  18. andrey2192

    andrey2192 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Hi Empir3, flash this recovery image on your phone. It's CWM5 updated. Then follow the steps from 4A to root your wildfire. I had some problems with rooting too, but I managed to sort things out. If you want a detailed how-to, follow Caro's link on top on this page. Happy rooting.

    Download WFS.rar - FisierulMeu.ro
     
  19. Empir3

    Empir3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I think your link is dead :/ other downloadlink? otherwise i'll just search for it on the internet :p
     
  20. andrey2192

    andrey2192 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013

    Mar 25, 2013
    3
    0
    5
  21. girlchoas

    girlchoas Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 16, 2012

    May 16, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Finally did it!
    Telstra branded Wildfire S model PG 76120 A510b S-on

    Unlocked at the HTC dev site

    then tried to get root

    I had to edit the PG76IMG file to my model number before it would work, I just got this error

    At HBOOT screen

    Model ID incorrect!
    Update Fail!
    Press power to reboot.


    I edited file after the modelid: name area saved as a zip file, and used that instead.
    Everything worked very easily after that

    Thanks very much to the OP for all advice and replies here.
     
  22. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    You need HTC sync. Otherwise the pc is not able to connect to the phone....
     
  23. italianveins

    italianveins Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 14, 2013

    May 14, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Singer/Musician Classical
    Hello right now i am in Greece
    guys i follow the instructions step by step i got wildfire s A510e i have unlock my bootloader and i am 2 min away of rooting my device and i cant do it cos it stucks on logo screen with the HTC letters and white background .

    i am really mad with my self i dont know what how to solve this . waste 2 days on that phone by now .

    Please help me
     
  24. remco48

    remco48 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    3
    0
    25
    Male
    retired
    Netherlands
    Hi, I did the steps in the tutorial but get stocked in step 4c!
    Then some screens pop up: see pics DSC00185/186/189/188 in that order.
    At the last screen the foon freezes.
    Please help me.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. simpsons_fan

    simpsons_fan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013

    Jun 2, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    hi,
    i have a problem in step 4a.
    i
     

Share This Page

Loading...