1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Guide] Root for Official 2.3.5 With Guide

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by geeve420, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. craigorry

    craigorry Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012

    Mar 16, 2012
    2
    0
    5

    NICE! Worked perfectly! Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. dragzon1497

    dragzon1497 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012

    Mar 15, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Hey I am using an unlocked captivate because I currently don't live in America.
    The unlock is very important and i cannot lose it! So i was wondering if i will lose the unlock if I root it??:thinking::thinking:
     
  3. daled

    daled Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Geeve, Did you ever make a guide to loading ICS? If so could you post a link to it here? Thanks for your good documentation and patient answers!

    I found the link for loading ICS: http://androidforums.com/captivate-...-guide-install-ics-4-0-3-docs-master-ics.html

    Also, what do you find to be the main benefits of ICS vs. Gingerbread on the Captivate?
     
  4. daled

    daled Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Geeve (or others), Should it make any difference if I upgrade to the stock gingerbread via Kies from a rooted Froyo when some apps were "frozen" by titanium backup?

    Here is what I discovered about this: I had a rooted version of Froyo and had used titanium backup to freeze some of the stock annoying apps. In particualar, I had frozen the AT&T app that was the tethering manger. (By freezing this app, you can tether.) After uprading using Kies to 2.3.5 although the phone was no longer rooted, the frozen apps remained frozen. Nice. When I rooted 2.3.5 using the directions in this thread I could confirm that the frozen apps were still frozen using titanium backup.
     
  5. Pascal333

    Pascal333 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I am getting an error message when I try to run odin with the
    KK4_stock_kernel.tar.:thinking:

    Please see the note after post #6. Maybe you can help me and any others with the same problem.


    Thanks!
     
  6. Pascal333

    Pascal333 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    8
    0
    5

    Help Please:

    I downloaded the files linked in the OP as instructed by and began the steps in this Post by geeve420 [Thanks geeve420].
    Everything went fine for the run of odin with
    I897UCKF1-AutoRoot-DesignGears.

    That proceeded just as described in the above Post.

    Then I proceeded to repeat the process on the unzipped tar file in
    KK4_stock_kernel.zip. But when I clicked on PDA and selected
    KK4_stock_kernel.tar

    oden

    kicked out the error msg.

    Invalid Image Type

    :(

    What to do? Has anybody else had this problem? Why does odin refer to an image?
    Solved it?

    Any help would be appreciated. ;)
    I am stuck at the middle of the two step process and left with no WiFi.


    Thanks in advance!
     
  7. daled

    daled Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Pascal333: try to download the zip of the kernel file again and unzip it again. It sounds like the tar file is corrupted.
     
  8. gambrah

    gambrah Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    i dont even kno what to tell u.u r more than GREAT.tnk u SIR GEEVE420.
     
  9. RazorvoirHOGS

    RazorvoirHOGS Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012

    Mar 24, 2012
    15
    1
    16
    Fayetteville, AR
    I'm completely new to this forum. I've also never rooted a smartphone. I've spent considerable time scouring the web for clear instructions on how to do this. This appears to be the most clear and concise method since I just updated through Kies Lite to Gingerbread 2.3.5. I want to try to give this a shot, seems as though most folks have had success with this guide. The other guides I read, mostly on the XDA site, use language way over my head.

    I have a couple questions before doing this though. Are there any prerequisite steps I need to take before rooting? The first thing I notice in this thread is that my Captivate does not look like the one in the picture. Mine is through AT&T, has the AT&T logo on the front which from what I have read online means it is "network locked." Can I still root if this is the case? Is there anything else I have to have in place before rooting?

    Also, after I root, what do I need to do to put a "ROM" on the phone? I'd like to get an ICS interface. Previously, I have just downloaded GO Launcher off the Android Market and applied an ICS Theme. Phone didn't seem to run as smoothly and it didn't have the complete ICS "look?" From what I have read, installing a ROM would enable the phone to run smoothly while getting the complete look. So what would I have to do to get something like that?

    Also, from what I have read one of the key benefits to rooting is the wealth of extra apps available. How do I access these? Will they just show up in the Market once the phone is rooted?

    Any additional advice would be appreciated. I'm completely new to this, but I believe this guide makes rooting achievable, even for someone like me lol...

    Thanks in advance for this guide. For those who have had issues utilizing this guide, have you been able to correct the problem? Just want to make sure I don't completely jack up my phone.


    EDIT: One other thing I wanted to ask concerns the so called "bloatware" that comes pre-installed on the phone. That was one main reason I wanted to root, to remove it. When the phone is rooted will I automatically be free to delete those like any other app? Or is there some program I have to get to accomplish this? Thanks again.
     
  10. malibu_rapper

    malibu_rapper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    My phone got stuck at zImage flashing KK4. Then I disconnected it, pulled out the battery, and I got an icon in the middle of the screen I think with a computer and the phone. I just connected it back, then clicked start on Odin again in the same place and it went through. Now I'm rooted. Thanks!
     
  11. jlotwom

    jlotwom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    so... I've had the captivate for quite a while now. had rooted 2.2 and it unrooted when I updated to 2.3.5 Now trying to root so I can get ICS. Problem is Odin is not recognizing my phone. any help? anyone else have this problem?
     
  12. elmfuzzy

    elmfuzzy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Ever since I rooted it my WiFi won't turn on. I press the button, it will say turning on and after about 20 seconds will turn its self back off. Any way to fix this?

    EDIT: I restarted my phone and everything seems to be in order! Thanks, this was super easy :)
     
  13. CaptivateGuy

    CaptivateGuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Hello,
    I'm new to rooting and decided to give it a try. I followed all the instructions and got my Captivate running 2.3.5 GingerBread to Download Mode but Odin simply doesn't recognize it. My phone is unharmed and I'm pretty sure my files aren't corrupt/downloaded improperly, how can I resolve this issue? I've tried using SuperOneClick and I've restarted my computer. Nothing.
     
  14. jlotwom

    jlotwom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    sucks doesnt it?
     
  15. GTGallop

    GTGallop Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    Project Management
    Cave Creek, AZ
    I followed the instructions - Now I can't see my SIM Card.

    UH OH!

    Any suggestions guys and gals?
     
  16. CaptivateGuy

    CaptivateGuy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    My issue is resolved. For anyone else having a problem getting their PC to detect their device, try another computer if you can. For some reason that worked perfectly for me. Ironically, I was going from a Windows 7 to a Vista, to add.
    Best of luck and thanks a million for this wonderful guide.
     
  17. GTGallop

    GTGallop Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012

    Mar 31, 2012
    8
    0
    25
    Project Management
    Cave Creek, AZ
    Sim was bassackwards - no worries!
     
  18. AmishFury

    AmishFury Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    167
    31
    43
    thank you... smooth and simple process

    was seeing how long i could go without rooting... made it 4 days

    now how long before i flash CM7...
     
  19. datanetmike

    datanetmike Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012

    Apr 3, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I am finding after doing this, i can no longer install anything from the google play store.

    on AT&T captivate. i was mainly doing this so i could fix the tetheringmanager crashing problem without needing to do a factory reset by either removing it or freezing it with titanium bu.

    when i try to install anything from the store the progress bar appears and scrolls but doesn't make any progress, never downloads or installs anything.

    any ideas on how to fix?

    Edit: Never mind i just had to clear the cache for it, it's fine now.

    thanks for the guide
     
  20. MissD

    MissD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you so much. I have used this method twice to root my Captivate and to root my Galaxy Tab. It is simple and complete. I especially appreciate the pictures 'cause I am a visually learner!

    Thank you very much for your time and effort. Time is precious especially if one has a family.
     
  21. kg9001

    kg9001 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I just got around to this, since I got a Captivate again, but it was upgraded to the GB, other than it not being rooted my Wi-Fi was not working properly.
    Refresing the KK4 solved all my issues, plus I got my root back. Thanks a lot!
     
  22. pikachu8282

    pikachu8282 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Thanks...it worked great!!!
     
  23. jdharrison81

    jdharrison81 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012

    Apr 4, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Im rooted (i think) and i can't delete bloatware or update the super user app via android market? Help.
     
  24. jlotwom

    jlotwom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012

    Mar 25, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    So I've rooted, added CWM and updated to ICS.. I see the perks with the onboard screenshot, overclocking.. what now? anyone else know what I can do to mix things up? maybe some apps I've overlooked that I would now have access to?
     
  25. mattbourge

    mattbourge Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012

    Jan 12, 2012
    12
    0
    15
    Thanks big Geeve!!! I had no previous experience rooting and this was a lifesaver. The last att update really messed up my gf's cappy..I was able to root and flash an ics 4.0.3. rom beginning with this guide. Your the man! :beer:

    -Matt
     

Share This Page

Loading...