• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root i9300 + CWM 6.0.4.6 + Archidroid 3.1.5 - Sudden bricked 'Can't mount /cache/...'

Hi, firstly I'll say I'm a bit new to this. I've done some searching around trying to find out how I can troubleshoot this problem but I keep getting a lot of seemingly unrelated or contradictory information and I'm left somewhat confused so I thought I'd start a thread of my own...

I just attempted my first flashing of a custom ROM on my GT-i9300. I managed to flash the recovery using Odin then install Archidroid from the external SD, all seemed to be going well. It's been running mostly o.k. for a about 3-4 days then this morning I awoke to the phone stuck on the Archidroid boot screen. I tried to reboot with the power button but it wouldn't go further than the Samsung logo after that. Rebooting to CWM showed an error:

E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/command
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/log
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_log
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_log
E:Can't mount /cache/recovery/last_install
E:Can't open /cache/recovery/last_install

I can't seem to do anything in CWM without it failing. I've tried re-flashing the Archidroid ROM and I've tried re-flashing CWM via Odin, both failed. I'm now a bit stuck as to what to try next, can anyone help?

TIA.

Hi, thanks for your reply. I tried TWRP also and got the same fail in Odin:

<ID:0/009> Odin engine v(ID:3.1005)..
<ID:0/009> File analysis..
<ID:0/009> SetupConnection..
<ID:0/009> Initialzation..
<ID:0/009> Get PIT for mapping..
<ID:0/009> Firmware update start..
<ID:0/009> SingleDownload.
<ID:0/009> recovery.img
<ID:0/009> NAND Write Start!!
<ID:0/009> FAIL!
<ID:0/009>
<ID:0/009> Complete(Write) operation failed.
<OSM> All threads completed. (succeed 0 / failed 1)

Upvote 0
Upvote 0