1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

LiQuID FroZeN YoGurT v1.5 (FRG22 Built From AOSP Source!! - Custom SLaYHer KeRNeLs!!)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads' started by liquid0624, Aug 24, 2010.

?

Poll closed due to new release for this ROM

  1. 5 Star ROM Rating: Elite

    48 vote(s)
    60.0%
  2. 4 Star ROM Rating: Outstanding

    20 vote(s)
    25.0%
  3. 3 Star ROM Rating: Average

    3 vote(s)
    3.8%
  4. 2 Star ROM Rating: Not Ready for Primetime

    5 vote(s)
    6.3%
  5. 1 Star ROM Rating: Not Usable

    4 vote(s)
    5.0%
  1. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I used Smoked Glass in the interim between BB 0.4 and LFY 1.4 - so technically, by the time I get LFY 1.5 on my phone I'll have had 2 different ROMs between BB 0.4 and LFY 1.5.

    If you wipe like Liquid says to, you should not have any iffies at all.

    However, take that with a grain of salt - YMMV, b/c not all phones are alike, and neither are us owners all alike - so what works great on my phone may fizzle on yours.
     

    Advertisement

  2. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Gotcha's? Yeah...there's one...

    You will never switch again LOL!

    Perfomance wise...LFY is the best I have ever used. Feature wise...it's not feature packed quite like CyanogenMod but all the "necessary" additions are there (plus some I'm sure)....but I'm a simple man...I want the ROM to be stable (first priority), fast (second priority), and well themed (third priority...but still importantant).
     
  3. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Yeah, I'm running the 1.2GHz variety...really fast. It's a little different "feeling" with the interactive SetCPU setting. Instead of a "ramp up" in speed...it seems to lag for a split second (if waking the phone up) and then it just kind of "jolts" to full speed. Wake it up and immediately open the app drawer to see what I mean.

    Certainly not a knock on the kernel...I really like em! It just "feels" different. Maybe it's in my head LOL
     
  4. Sparky977

    Sparky977 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Don't get me wrong, I'm definitely not advocating flashing ROMs without wiping. I know the possible consequences and that its my own fault if it screws up.
    In fact, I will probably be reinstalling everything the correct way tomorrow because I am seeing weird little bits of lagging. Nothing serious, but I just want to nip it in the bud now.
     
    KaveMahn and javaman70 like this.
  5. seadams

    seadams Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    64
    3
    36
    Very nice!! Great job guys:) question, what is "new liquid slayher install splash screen"?
     
  6. ShuttleXpC

    ShuttleXpC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    11
    18
    What kernel does this install by default with the theme? Because I'm getting like 200 points less on Quadrant and nothing is different from before, minus the kernel.
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Kernel will directly affect those scores - the faster your DROID is OCd the better the score.

    I think it installs a default 800 MHz kernel, but I am not sure right now - if you have already installed the ROM, and have SetCPU, open it up (without flashing a new kernel) and see what the max speed is that you can set - and there is your answer.
     
    UBRocked likes this.
  8. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    When you install the LFY 1.5 ROM...you get a install "splash screen" that shows graphics...not a notable feature for the ROM itself...but pretty cool looking (I have no idea how they make those graphics using keyboard characters) LOL
     
  9. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Yep, it's an 800MHz kernel that is very capable. You could stick with that stock kernel ESPECIALLY if battery life is a top priority.
     
  10. ShuttleXpC

    ShuttleXpC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    11
    18
    Yeah, I just checked its a Slayher 800mhz one. Thing is, the previous one I had was from LfY1.4 (which wasn't altered in any way) and it was getting 200 points more on Quadrant. I've never OC'd my droid before, so anything that was from 1.4 default is what I was using. So any reason why the kernel from default before was reaching in the 1000's on Quadrant, but this specific one is only getting in the 800's without OC'ing and around 1115 when overclocked to 800mhz?
     
  11. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    Here is the biggest problem with not "properly" wiping/formatting before loading a ROM....

    If you do have a weird issue...you do not know if it is an installation problem or an "actual" issue with a ROM or app. I like to be CERTAIN that it's not an installation problem.
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Umm, is it possible that the 1.4 was already default at 800? Even if SetCPU was not set to run it at 800, I believe (gosh, I am sounding wishy washy all fo a sudden!) that Pete's BB included a kernel that was 'programmed' (for lack of a better word) in the system to always run at specific speeds - so it could be that 1.4 was always set to run at 800, and thus you're actually seeing a speed increase now....
     
    ShuttleXpC likes this.
  13. ShuttleXpC

    ShuttleXpC Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    48
    11
    18
    Ok, thanks for all this. Just new to the whole SetCPU thing and don't know much about setting these profiles up. Only reason I never bothered with it before.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    That is a whole different animal. Those profiles are very powerful, but also very confusing. When I get some time this weekend, I can post my settings, but there is a thread somewhere in the rooted section about exactly that - search SetCPU profile in All About Root forum.
     
  15. liquid0624

    liquid0624 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    113
    198
    68
    I think they are very powerful too and save you lots of battery life and make your phone perform better when needed as well :)
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I should have clarified - confusing to someone seeing them for the first time.

    I have my profiles set and I love my settings lol....
     
  17. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38
    Got a question once again ok so it has launcher pro but for some reason it says i need to purchase the pro version. So i used a script to remove it and tryed to add a launcher pro that was the actaul one but it won't let me install it because it says (This is a system aplication. Do you still want to replace it? all previous data will be saved) then it says installation failed . So umm how do i remove the launcher pro or is there a patch taht makes it pro ??????
     
  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    after running the script, you have to reboot the phone so it realizes that LP is no longer installed.
     
    Tugdaturtle likes this.
  19. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38
    ok trying it
     
  20. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38
    Thanks alot that did the trick lmao im such a newb at this so sorry for asking so many questions
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Hey - I was once in your shoes. The first time I ever removed a system app I struggled for like an hour trying to figure out why it could not install. I didn't get an answer anywhere (mainly b/c I didn't ask anywhere but one place - I am too hard headed and hell-bent on figuring things out myself) and in frustration I reboot - and it magically worked.

    I put 2 and 2 together and tried it with another app, and it worked only after reboot - and thus my idea was coalesced in my head.

    I mean, this is my first smart phone ever....
     
  22. JimmyCarbone

    JimmyCarbone Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    40
    5
    36
    Best Buy Home Theater Geek.
    Rochester, NY
    just finished flashing.. haven't played around yet but the boot animation is siiiiiiiiiiiiiiick!
     
  23. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    4,335
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010

    Jan 31, 2010
    4,335
    1,564
    433
    Ohio
    you didn't need to purchase the pro version...just to use the LP widgets or be able to resize the widgets (bad idea to do this anyway).
     
  24. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38

    Same here man my first smartphone ever and i absolutely love it but there is some things on here that just stope me lol but i am learning slowly like i know how to change roms easily now but the kernals and other stuff thats still stopes mea nd confuses me lol.
     
  25. Tugdaturtle

    Tugdaturtle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    166
    13
    38

    Well see i kinda already had a paid open home that i purchased way before i rooted so i rather just have it back on there
     

Share This Page

Loading...