1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

MetroPCS 4G not all that impressive

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Lolas Dad, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Lolas Dad

    Lolas Dad Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    32
    5
    16
    In looking on the map where 4G starts in NJ I went to Union Beach and Keyport NJ near the water. My LG Esteem went right to 4G. I did a speed test and the results were 448Kbps down and 118Kbps up. I went to You Tube and the video half loaded and then started playing but then started buffering again. Thankfully there is a lot of free WiFi in the areas I have been to so far.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Wow! That is pretty bad. I get 13xxkbps down 17xx kbps up
     
  3. AndroidxGuy

    AndroidxGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    331
    42
    43
    Pretty bad indeed. I can get 4.5 megs up and down.
     
  4. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    Really????
     
  5. jrocivxx

    jrocivxx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    140
    17
    38
    mgr
    here
    Im sorry its not really 4g. Lets be realistic. Its a low end 3g speed. 1 to 4 megs a sec is not considered 4g imo.
     
  6. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US

    It is 4g. But not originally 4g speeds. LTE is 4g.
     
  7. jrocivxx

    jrocivxx Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011

    Mar 16, 2011
    140
    17
    38
    mgr
    here

    Well yeah its 4g im just saying its really slow compared to other companys.
     
  8. wayne137

    wayne137 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011

    Apr 7, 2011
    395
    38
    43
    Highe School
    Florida

    well yea u are right about that metro 4g lte is slow compared to Verizon and at&t 4g Lte speeds but lets wait to see if it change in the next couple of months
     
  9. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    Yeah according to them it's not fully developed yet. let's see how that goes when they upgrade it.
     
  10. ImaTrouper

    ImaTrouper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    20
    2
    36
    Denver
    How are you guys able to get anything faster than 1x? I had my EVO Shift flashed to Metro about a week and a half ago, and have not been able to get anything stronger than 1x.... LAME imo. I am in donwtown Tampa, FL and there is 4g for everyone (or so they say)

    Thanks for any help in advance.
     
  11. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,996
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011

    Nov 26, 2011
    1,996
    335
    163
    To help people, currently student
    US
    Does your evo supports LTE network connection ?
     
  12. macp

    macp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    41
    15
    18

    The EVO Shift from sprint has a wimax antenna and will not work on Metro PCS LTE network. Sorry bud you need a different phone with an LTE antenna.
     
  13. ImaTrouper

    ImaTrouper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    20
    2
    36
    Denver
    Gotcha. Oh well, glad I have access to wi-fi almost everywhere I go. Thanks for the tip, I may get another phone to use then. How can I check which antenna is used on a device if I am looking at it? Under settings somewhere?
     
  14. macp

    macp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    41
    15
    18
    Should be in the specifications on the manufacturers website. If you are buying a new phone i don't believe they are even making wimax phones anymore as Sprint is changing over to LTE. Wimax will begin to be phased out completely by next year, i think.
     
  15. ImaTrouper

    ImaTrouper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    20
    2
    36
    Denver
    Well, I was actually travelling from the Tampa area back home (Denver) last night and I had a layover in Atlanta, why is it that I was able to pick up a 3g signal there if Metro PCS uses LTE and my EVO has a Wimax antenna?

    I am just a little confused at this finding....
     
  16. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,254
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,254
    123
    163
    I'm from NJ too and i plan on getting their galaxy soon, hopefully the 4g LTE won't dissapoint me since i have strong 3g signals

    My 3g test from open signal maps

    90% signal

    DL Speed : 442 KBPS

    Upload : 350 kbps
     
  17. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,254
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,254
    123
    163
    Though i did tweak the speeds a little and i love how it passes the 120 kbps cap.
     
  18. macp

    macp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    41
    15
    18

    The phone you have, and most new phones, has three antennas. 3G uses a different antenna so you will still be able to get 3G is the areas Metro PCS has 3G service. The only different antenna on yours from a Metro 4G phone is the 4G antenna.
     
  19. ImaTrouper

    ImaTrouper Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    20
    2
    36
    Denver

    So the LTE & Wimax antennas are only for 4g service. Holy 5h!t batman, there is soooo much I have to learn about this phone before I start looking into downloading new roms.

    There still is some cloudiness about the topic to me. Tampa has plenty of 3g coverage, also has spotty 4g coverage by Metro. My cousin also uses Metro and is able to use her 3g service when I only picked up the 1x.

    And what do you mean my phone has three antennas? I know 2 of them are 3g and 4g, what would the other one be? Sorry for the questions, I am just learning a TON about the phone since I have been here, and I love the fact that you guys are willing to help instead of flaming me. Haha.
     
  20. macp

    macp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    41
    15
    18

    No problem man. Here you go.
    I even put the symbols next to the technology name. ;-)
    CDMA (1x), EVDO (3G), & LTE (4G)

    Edit: Don't forget to thank me by clicking the button. :p
     
    ImaTrouper and raysfan like this.
  21. blade00000009

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    194
    19
    58
    all things android i am only 11 years old
    Florida,Clermont
    dude that is low but i don't have 4g but i live right next to Orlando which has 4g and it is fast but here is the charts
    Verizon 4g lte
    at@t 4g lte
    metro pcs 4g lte
    sprint wiimax
    t-mobile hspa+ which is not even 4g
    metro pcs beats sprint and t-mobile not Verizon and at@t so metro is good but not in all areas dude in metropolitan areas like nyc la Chicago some new jersey so you get low that is wrong i get high speeds that is good
     
  22. UKCatFan

    UKCatFan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    793
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010

    Dec 15, 2010
    793
    122
    93
    You probably have an older version of the prl on your phone. Since it is flashed from another network, I am not sure how you would update it. It should be possible though.
     
  23. horsecharles

    horsecharles Android Expert
    Rank:
     #101
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,231
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010

    Dec 14, 2010
    1,231
    315
    173
    NYC
    on way to East Rutherford from NYC(Union City NJ)
    3mb Up / 2
     
  24. THE W

    THE W Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,092
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012

    Mar 10, 2012
    2,092
    242
    163
    Detroit
    gotta say this,

    i live in detroit and i get 4mb up and down. nowhere near verizon or ATT but their data plans may be the biggest ripoffs ever.

    think a bout it. why do you need 30mb down to check your email or look at webpages? all you need is a 1.5mb down connection to do that, heck, not even that. you gonna look at movies? have fun with that with 2GB of data per month(4GB now with the promotion for verizon. yippie!). you cant stream or download hardly anything because of the data limitation unless you want a $200 cell phone bill every month.

    having all that speed just to check email, look at websites, and watch a video or two is like getting a Ferrari just to go to the grocery store down the street. the car is worthless if it just sits in the garage most of the time. whats the point of having speeds of 30mb down if you cant do anything with it? the limitations are like a built in speeding ticket.

    4mb down aint that fast, but i havent had issues streaming any media and i dont have to worry about paying an extra 10 bucks or more for watching too many videos or navigating too much or checking too many emails or looking at too many webpages. metro doesnt allow tethering, but verizon does. just pay them $300 a month.

    metro, however, is garbage once you leave their coverage area. your phone becomes a paperweight. you get what you pay for. metro works for me because i dont travel outside the coverage area. i would NOT recommend metro to people who travel.

    if i had to switch carriers i'd go to sprint because they also have unlimited data and a WAY better coverage area than metro. though, their 4g speeds are said to be slower than metro.
     
  25. macp

    macp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    41
    15
    18
    Actually metro has a roaming agreement with sprint, so even when you travel you still have service. Just not 4g.
     

Share This Page

Loading...