1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [MetroPCS & T-Mobile] [RECOVERY][CWMR][DEV] Clockworkmod Recovery for the LG Optimus F3 MS659 (fx3mt)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PlayfulGod, Oct 2, 2013.

  1. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,251
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    For the t-mobile/metro pcs f3 you have to boot into recovery with an app so that your data does not get wiped. Any of the following apps would do or others you might like...

    Reboot Utility
    Recovery Reboot

    The only time you need the button combo is if you're recovering from a bricked state, which at that point getting your data wiped would be the least of your problems.

    When recovering from a brick with the button combo there's a trick... Go into "mounts and storage" in recovery and format data to fix data partition corruption. This will allow you to restore without having to boot first and then go back into recovery to restore.

    Simple explanation for all this... Bootloader checks the kernel sig (kind of like md5) and if it don't match exactly then bootloader triggers kernel panic and corrupts the data partition.
     

    Advertisement

    brotherswing and roadkill42 like this.
  2. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    Ah, that's a nice trick to do it all in one sitting. I'll remember that trick next time I get bricked or bootlooped.
     
  3. Alvin4500

    Alvin4500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015

    Jun 12, 2015
    20
    1
    26
    Do I flash the zip on recovery?
     
  4. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    Yeah just flash the zip file using any other recovery that you already have.
     
  5. Alvin4500

    Alvin4500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015

    Jun 12, 2015
    20
    1
    26
    Do you have a .img for the recovery my f3 doesn't have a recovery if you have it please reply :)
     
  6. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
  7. Alvin4500

    Alvin4500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015

    Jun 12, 2015
    20
    1
    26
  8. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    TWRP can do everything that CWM can, but I say CWM is a bit safer as TWRP for this phone can't boot into recovery with the button combo. Just flash TWRP using flashify and immediately flash CWM using TWRP.
     
  9. Alvin4500

    Alvin4500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015

    Jun 12, 2015
    20
    1
    26
    Can anyone help me resolve my recovery problem the recovery doesnt flash any rom right I tried twrp and it also has the same problem please help!!!!!!
     
  10. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,251
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    There is definitely something wrong with your device if you can't flash any roms with any of the recoveries. You should consider factory restoring your phone with the kdz method. This usually fixes all underlying issues. Then you can start fresh flashing what you want. I would even reflash the recovery if I were you.
     
  11. Alvin4500

    Alvin4500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015

    Jun 12, 2015
    20
    1
    26
    How do I factory reset with the kdz method?
     
  12. Alvin4500

    Alvin4500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015

    Jun 12, 2015
    20
    1
    26
    How do I reset the phone with kdz
     
  13. GameTheory

    GameTheory Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    743
    Posts:
    4,251
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

  14. Theamazingkyrie

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015

    Aug 5, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Can someone walk me through how to do this im lost and tried every thing i jist domt want to do anything wrong and mess up my phome
     
  15. Robert Wisdom

    Robert Wisdom Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015

    Jul 13, 2015
    24
    16
    28
    Male
    i can boot into twrp with the button combo, no problem. Hold the home key, volume down and power. when it says release the keys, keep holding the volume down;)
     
  16. AquaVolt

    AquaVolt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014

    Jun 27, 2014
    307
    51
    63
    Male
    High School Student
    New York, United States
    Does it factory reset when booting?
     
  17. Robert Wisdom

    Robert Wisdom Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015

    Jul 13, 2015
    24
    16
    28
    Male
    Nope, doesn't factory reset. I've installed both carbonrom and cynogenmod and other roms through twrp and the gapps and other stuff like the freedompop apn fix. I touch reboot in twrp and it reboots, I havent lost anything. The only time it factory resets is if I use the "reboot into recovery" option within carbonrom or cyanogenmod. I have to poweroff. Then boot into recovery by presdsing the buttons.
     
  18. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
    Your not having the factory reset issue with using the button combo because your using the virgin mobile twrp and virgin mobile rom's. There's nothing wrong with that, just saying that's why.
     
  19. Robert Wisdom

    Robert Wisdom Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015

    Jul 13, 2015
    24
    16
    28
    Male
    oh, this is a sprint phone, I mean freedompop phone, I guess its pretty much the same though.
     
  20. xclusive36

    xclusive36 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014

    Jan 28, 2014
    1,338
    457
    183
    Male
    Pepsi
    Maryland
  21. Robert Wisdom

    Robert Wisdom Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    28
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015

    Jul 13, 2015
    24
    16
    28
    Male
    ah, thank you for enlightening me. I figured there must be a difference. I was going to try the cwm recovery out, but twrp is working really well.
     
  22. rames3

    rames3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015

    Sep 1, 2015
    1
    0
    15
    Male
    I'm not sure if I'm doing this in the correct order from this forum but I have this exact model phone
    MetroPCS LG Optimus F3 MS659 and my wifi has just stopped working all together I've done multiple things to get it to come back but to no avail the wifi settings just show "searching" and nothing else any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  23. piff

    piff Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    111
    7
    36
    WHERE IS THE FILE THE LINK IS DEAD
     
  24. RaulF3

    RaulF3 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    10
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2018

    Apr 30, 2018
    1
    0
    10
    The link doesn't work and I've spent hours looking for it, but I can't find it. Do you have another link? Or does anyone else have a link?
     
  25. roadkill42

    roadkill42 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,463
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013

    Jan 22, 2013
    2,463
    474
    183
    Male
    kinda jack of trades
    jonesbough tn
    Try PMing him to see if he can provide it for u
     

Share This Page

Loading...