1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New Root Method No Pc - Credit to MyFormIsCrack over on the rise forums

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Mike525, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. Mike525

    Mike525 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    77
    25
    23
    Sorry for the duplicate post I can't change the Title in the other post "New Firmware update - root problems" , So I am starting a new thread.

    After trying several methods.. I was able to Root using POOT. Bin4ry's root method did not work for me (I Tried V2, v17, V18) And seeing as I rooted the Hydro over 10 times successfully prior to the Update I thought this would help others.

    more info here:
    http://androidforums.com/rise-all-things-root/686996-new-root-method-no-pc.html

    Credit goes to MyFormIsCrack over on the rise forums.

    [​IMG] New Root Method No Pc

    Prior even posting how can I make this my own thread instead of being sticked especially when I'm the only one so far who has this?

    On my initial/first reply was solely asking to have this as a seperate thread and not being moved by a mod into the sticky.Basically you do the following:

    1)Enable usb debugging in dev ops

    2)Download poot: http://db.tt/0HqxEURT

    3)Download minstro 2 from store

    4)Download superuser from store

    5)Run poot

    6)Pushes su to xbin

    7)Go into superuser and update binary (I skipped this step for some reason I lose root after doing this)

    8)If done right you now have root

    9)For testing on already rooted phones use temp unroot through superuser and repeat

    this worked for the rise, and for me for the hydro. Bin4ry's root I could not get to work (after the "Kyocera Update Tool" downloaded and installed new formware ) hope this helps someone here.

    If I helped you hit the thanks button!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Jeremiah1977

    Jeremiah1977 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012

    Dec 30, 2012
    2
    1
    26
    Male
    Denver
    Works great! I had to install superuser update fixer to complete the root using poot.
    However I was able to root another rise using Bin4ry V3. Thanks!
     
  3. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    This didn't work for me. Kept getting 'a demon has appeared' error. V2 worked perfectly tho :)
     
  4. desktop

    desktop Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #391
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013

    Feb 14, 2013
    217
    88
    63
    Male
    Freelance Illustrator
    Michigan
    Ok, I've been trying to root my Hydro for a few days and then I stumbled upon one of the guides here on this board. I couldn't get it to work with Bin4ry's method (none of his scripts worked for me) so I was sent here by maikal82 to try this one.

    This one worked for me, but the guide above is lacking a few helpful bits of info. First, the POOT file has to be put on your phone (you can't run it from the computer, which is what I thought you had to do). I plugged my phone into my PC and dragged/dropped POOT into the Download folder. Once it was there I just clicked it and it ran and installed itself.

    Now I don't know what version of SU the OP used, but the SU app I have doesn't have any options in the settings to update the binary. I'm totally new to all of this so I don't even know what SU is or what it does, but there must be different SU apps out there. The first one I downloaded from the store had an icon with a blue cape on it. This one I have now is the android bot with a patch over his eye. I haven't been able to locate the other one yet.

    Anyway, I now have root, so I'm happy.
     
  5. Mike525

    Mike525 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    77
    25
    23
    @ the honorable LV90...

    Have you done the firmware upgrade already? (Kyocera update tool) because V2 always worked for me until I updated :mad:
     
  6. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Yea, she (my roommate) updated while I was on the road.

    I tried poot, which told me a demon surfaced, but when I ran it a second time without rebooting, it said that su binary was installed, I checked for root access with root checker... it failed. I went into superuser and selected the update binary option. It ran successfully (even prompted for su permission) :thinking: but still didn't give me root access

    So I tried su update fixer... it couldn't get root... so then I went and tried v2 and it worked first shot
     
  7. DBauzer

    DBauzer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013

    Feb 16, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Male
    Benton Harbor, MI
    Does anyone have any idea how to fix this "demon" (Error code: 222)? It seems to be the only thing preventing me from rooting with POOT. Bin4nry hasn't worked. I've tried v2, v15, and v18. Program starts then after I hit restore, nothing... I'd appreciate ANY suggestions.
     
  8. Mike525

    Mike525 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    77
    25
    23
    Yea, that's why I mentioned it Don't update binary... I lose root after binary update not sure why.
     
  9. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    Yes, but if you read my post, I didn't have it before i attempted to update the binary either...
     
    Slayer72 likes this.
  10. Mike525

    Mike525 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    77
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    77
    25
    23
    Yea sorry I did see that and I had the phone lagging bad on the first couple of attempts , eventually it did work for me.
     
  11. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    I still haven't been able to get my phone rooted with either method, so I don't know... :/
     
  12. kaelusa

    kaelusa Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013

    Feb 22, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    texas
    Downloaded and installed ministro2 after firmware update,then ran poot. Ignore the demon then dl'd And ran superuser (eyepatch ) all good
     
  13. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    I tried that had root for a day then mysteriously lost root, so yeah this phone is so damn annoying, I'm getting a Samsung Galaxy SII tomorrow, so I won't have to deal with this annoying POS much longer... :p
     
  14. kaelusa

    kaelusa Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013

    Feb 22, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    texas
    I guess the key to rooting this phone without pc is to have the needed library files present before running poot. That way, if any further files are needed, they will update upon running poot. Ministro 2 updated itself, as did superuser. I still have root and was able to install and run flash player 11 today. Or, I'm just lucky, lol
     
  15. alphonsecorbet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013

    Feb 24, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    It worked perfect for me. Update binaries and everything. You have to make sure you actually run poot after it downloads the things it needs. Then should work like a charm
     
  16. PattyBear9210

    PattyBear9210 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012

    Dec 15, 2012
    66
    12
    18
    Male
    crimper cutter boxer
    Minnesota
    So all the hydro users know I made a easyer guide for this well I think at least lol and I tryed to make it for noobs as best as I could
    Ps its on the rise fourms
     
  17. tehnoob

    tehnoob Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012

    Jul 2, 2012
    114
    4
    36
    so I used root checker to see if I was rooted and it said yes but superuser binary won't update...does that matter ?

    Sent from my C5170 using Tapatalk 2
     
  18. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    Updating Superuser does not matter, as long as you have root and are being prompted for permissions for apps requiring root you should be all set...
     
  19. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
    For those that have acquired root do you know if your phone has the latest update pushed from Boost?? I'm trying to figure out why mine still won't take at this point...
     
  20. Midnight_Moon

    Midnight_Moon Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013

    Mar 21, 2013
    8
    0
    5
    Male
    FYI, updating the SU binaries will break root. sounds strange, but using poot to root the Hydro, i've had to reroot twice after updating the binaries.

    Slayer, I have the update to 4.0.4. though i rooted after the OTA update.
     
  21. vipervma1

    vipervma1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013

    Apr 30, 2013
    3
    0
    25
    Male
    Worked perfect, Thank you Mike525
     
  22. MyFormIsCrack

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    233
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013

    Feb 10, 2013
    233
    51
    53
    Female
    Bestowed With True Prowess From Inate
    MajGen Over A Crack Formation.Not In Iraq
    Given poot is initially only native to the elite you cant fix forementioned.The whole point of poot is to push su binary into xbin and nothing else afterwards you go into superuser swipw completely to the left bottom update.Also from inception make sure to enable usb debug in dev ops
     
  23. Josh2090

    Josh2090 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    90
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013

    Jul 6, 2013
    90
    3
    16
    Male
    Georgia, USA
    I rooted my hydro thanks to you guys and I did that with the hopes that it will help me with the freezing and laging and of course with the battery.

    Now I'm not sure what to do. I installed Greenify for the battery. But for some reason it only allowed me to hibernate Tango. All the other I get I message that says "Failed to put 'NAME OF APP' in hibernation.?? They are placed as pending. I also have App Quarantine but won't quarantined an app.

    I also downloaded System Turner but it was to complicated for me so I uninstall it.

    I have RAM Manager Free but I don't think is working cause my phone keeps freezing.

    I also have Root App/Delete with helped me disabled and/or uninstall some apps.

    The freezing is a pain. Please help
     
  24. codester0869

    codester0869 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    67
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013

    Jul 13, 2013
    67
    3
    16
    Male
    window cleaner for bulldog window cleaning
    st Louis MO
    i know im gonna sound stupid but V2 of what? or where do i get it???
     
  25. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    583
    Posts:
    5,559
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    Oct 5, 2011
    5,559
    4,444
    583
    Male
    entertainer
    grand rapids,mi
    I was referring to bin4ary's tool

    instructions found in this thread:
    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=649902

    However many have had success using this method (poot)
     

Share This Page

Loading...