1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New S-OFF Method Released -- Sunshine

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rxpert83, Jun 23, 2014.

  1. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    bump :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Sorry, got to helping others who were bricked or nearing it too.

    I'll be back.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  3. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
  4. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    OK so let's start with the basics -

    Have you been making nandroid backups?

    Does your phone run right now?

    If yes, check out "AFV File Verifier for Androidâ„¢"

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=sa.afvx

    Verify that the md5 checksum of any rom zips you have match the values from the download sites before you begin.
     
  5. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    yes my phone run right now and its on cyanogenmod 5..0.1 android
    i dont think i made backups lol
    k lemme check that app
    so i downloaded the newest version of android resolution and i am not downloading it on my phone. I'll backup the current version and try to flash that one? i am going to check the md5 after this file downloads to my phone
     
    #80 dimakiller3, Feb 22, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2015
  6. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    k md5 doesnt match lol, how does that happen?
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    All sorts of glitches can happen between their server, the download, and your storage.

    That's why we need to check the md5 checksum before ever trying to flash something.

    So -

    Go download again.

    Repeat until the md5 checksum matches.

    Go into recovery.

    Make a nandroid backup of what you have before flashing - always.

    Then install your new rom.

    As you move forward, you can decide to delete nandroid backups you no longer feel you need.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  8. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    shittt, my internet isnt fast this will take a while lol.
     
  9. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    and to backup i just press on back on twrp and then backup right? I think i did it before and the files wasnt there but ill try again :D
    and before installing the new rom i need to wipe all data right.
     
  10. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    oh and also, can i check the md on my computer without installing the zip to phone
     
  11. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Yeah, for the backup, accept the defaults of boot, system and data.

    As for wiping before installing - it depends.

    The ViperOneM8 rom includes its own wiper in the Aroma installer. It's usually worse to wipe from recovery before using it - choose default wipe during the installation and let it do its job.

    Check other rom threads for wiping advice.

    Never believe anyone telling you that you need multiple wipes or super wipes. If they require that, choose another rom ok.
     
  12. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    i am only worried about songs, do they get saved when i wipe data and cache or do i have to make backup of them on the comp and then reinstall them on the new system?
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    We include a pc md5 checksum utility in our Mini-SDK -

    http://androidforums.com/threads/adb-guide-updated-2014-11-11.443072/#post-5389081
    Nothing gets saved on a wipe - wipe is another word for erase.

    Your personal media is stored on /sdcard and /sdcard2.

    If you did have anything valuable in /data that you lost, then you just go to the nandroid backup you made before wiping and installing, and retrieve it.

    See? Nandroid backups are important.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  14. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    k so the file that i copied from internet has the same md. When i copy to my phone it copies until like 6 mins left and then closes and then when i check md on the phone its a different one!
     
  15. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Then your cable or sd card (if that's where you're putting it) is shot.

    Also - be sure to try a USB 2 port, USB 3 ports don't always work with an HTC.
     
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    And to download directly from the web, I recommend Dolphin or Boat Browser.

    Not the stock browser and NEVER Chrome.
     
    dan55 likes this.
  17. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    can i put it in my internal drive? also whys chrome bad o.0
     
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Internal or external sd, doesn't matter.

    In your case, I'd try internal because we haven't ruled out what's up with your SD card.

    I have no idea why Chrome is so bad.

    I only know that I have never gotten it to download a rom properly and neither have a whole bunch of other people I've helped.
     
  19. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    ok i got the rom but no wifi :D How do i update firmware or whatever without s-off ? :D
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    I've been in so many threads I'm confused.

    Tell me again which rom?

    There is a process to relock your phone, do an RUU, update your firmware, and then repeat the whole unlock, install recovery and install rom again for s-on.

    I don't know it well enough.

    Scotty is going to help someone in another thread do the RUU part tonight. Look for his post or search this forum for RUU.

    I'm s-off, I update my firmware directly.
     
  21. dimakiller3

    dimakiller3 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015

    Feb 21, 2015
    19
    0
    25
    Male
    student
    toronto
    android revolution hd rom :D, ok ill search for scotty :D
     
  22. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
  23. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #98 Granite1, Mar 16, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2015
    dan55 likes this.
  24. dan55

    dan55 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #67
    Points:
    263
    Posts:
    3,049
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010

    Oct 23, 2010
    3,049
    311
    263
    hi guys,
    after many months...im finally going to sunshine my international m8 - currently on viper1.8 - hoping eventually to get to latest viper
    ..sounds like I just dload sunshine,pay,run it again - and bobs your uncle - cool :)


    ....doh! error on testing app :/ says needs to be non debuggable boot img :(
     
    #99 dan55, May 2, 2015
    Last edited: May 2, 2015
  25. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Nandroid backup what you have.

    Restore your original stock nandroid backup.

    Root if it isn't already by flashing the latest SuperSU zip - run Sunshine, profit.
     
    dan55 likes this.

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...