1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nexus 4 LTE

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by romanm2012, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. romanm2012

    romanm2012 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013

    Jul 2, 2013
    44
    2
    16
    If I was to get a nexus 4 now, could I make it get LTE on TMobile through Metro Pcs?(BYOP) (Dallas)
    Is it difficult?
     

    Advertisement

  2. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,107
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,107
    24,090
    3,118
    Scotland
    romanm2012 likes this.
  3. romanm2012

    romanm2012 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013

    Jul 2, 2013
    44
    2
    16
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    All of the steps listed in the walkthrough are important except for the last step, which is more of a convenience.

    Flashing the radios is necessary because Google disabled the ability to use LTE after the .33 radio. So if you have a newer one, it won't work unless you flash a radio that allows it.
    The build.prop edits are necessary so that the device knows how to pull lte signal.
    The dial code menu option is necessary in order to enable LTE
    The apn edit is necessary so that the device knows from where (ie the carrier) to pull lte signal.

    Because the dial code menu option resets every reboot, the last part of the walkthrough is to prevent it from doing so. However if you feel like redoing it each time the phone reboots, then you can skip the last step.

    Some of the videos you talk about not doing all the steps might be older and made before Google disabled lte in the .48 radio. So that would allow them to not need to flash the older one because they already had it.
     
  5. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    Umm, no more freaking out over all of the steps.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2358931

    You can have your choice of which radios to use, although 0.27 seems to be the best performer, and you even have the ability to reverse the changes without too much trouble.

    I flashed this about 5 days ago and had no problems whatsoever.
     
    romanm2012 likes this.
  6. romanm2012

    romanm2012 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013

    Jul 2, 2013
    44
    2
    16

    Yeah, I guess I saw those. but thanks again
     
  7. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    I was passing through and noticed your post. If you enabled the LTE on the Nexus 4 and then brought it to MetroPCS on their BYOD it'll actually be using T-Mobiles network. If you're in an area that has T-Mo LTE then you should get connectivity (at least from everything that I've read).

    Head on over to here http://androidforums.com/metro-pcs/738676-official-metropcs-byod-discussion-thread.html and ask your question (if you haven't already found it). Gman over there is pretty knowledgeable and there are others as well that might know.
     
    El Presidente and jmar like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...