1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support No option to list contacts by last name in settings

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mattcshen, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. mattcshen

    mattcshen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Hi I just got my galaxy note 2 a few days ago. First time using android OS. I am trying to sort my contacts so they are ordered by last name. After going through the forum, I found that many people posted to go into settings in the contacts app. However when I open it, it does not have a list by option and I for the life of me can't figure out how to get it back. Can someone help me?

    Heres what it looks like:

    Screenshots_2013-01-01-19-51-16 (1).png
     

    Advertisement

  2. zc1

    zc1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    166
    28
    43
    Strange. I've not seen that, before.
     
  3. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    It looks like your carrier removed that function from Android. Unfortunately, nothing can be done about that unless you root and install a custom ROM.
     
  4. zc1

    zc1 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    166
    28
    43
    Did you buy the phone brand new?
     
  5. Veritas4420

    Veritas4420 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    642
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009

    Nov 18, 2009
    642
    84
    78
    Male
    Garmin Tech support
    Kansas
    Yep looks like it's your carrier.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mattcshen

    mattcshen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    Yes its n7105 taiwan/hong kong edition i think
     
  7. mattcshen

    mattcshen Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    3
    0
    5
    but i didnt get the phone with my carrier its an unlocked phone from asia
     
  8. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Even if the phone is unlocked, the carrier that it belonged to must have locked that feature out. Unlocking a phone only allows the ability to use the phone with other networks. It doesn't do anything to the original stock ROM that was already in place. So the carrier it originally belonged to already locked that feature out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...