1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Performance problems after upgrade to 2.3.6

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nmj77, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. nmj77

    nmj77 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    After upgrading to 2.3.6 I havehuge performance problems with my Ace. When I long-press the home button to start the built-in task manager I get the list of running apps. Ordinarily I will only have the standard email app running. If I just wait a while I can see that when the email app is syncing email the CPU-load will go up to about 70%. This is usually the same time when the phone gets very slow (or rather I start the task manager when the phone gets slow). before upgrading to 2.3.6 I didn't have this issue. It's extreemly annoying and is almost making it impossible to use the phone. Opening up the contacts, recent calls etc is also so slow it's no use to be in a hurry to make a call. Also it seems that the battery life is much shorter now than before the update. I am really regretting updating my phone.

    Does anyone else have this problem?

    Also the "Market" app icon is gone? I thought that it was replaced by Samsung Apps but searching for an app I already have in Samsung apps finds no results so I guess Samsung apps is only for Samsung approved apps?

    Can I downgrade back to the original Android version? I'm not really sure but I think the stock version was 2.2.x something. Should I reset the phone (will it reset to stock version or 2.3.6?)?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mackinon

    Mackinon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    252
    29
    43
    Male
    Developer
    Bangalore, India

    no performance problem and market is replaced with play shop it should be in the app drawer...
     
    nmj77 likes this.
  3. galaxyace152

    galaxyace152 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    161
    38
    53
    India
    How did you update? Ota or kies or odin?
     
  4. nmj77

    nmj77 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012

    Mar 17, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    I updated via Kies.
     
  5. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    I updated via OTA & I must say I am disappointed that none of the benefits mentioned by others are not apparent on my phone after the update. I too am regretting updating my phone as it had no problems as such. :( My problems are mentioned here

    I tried the OTA & KIES option just now to see if I can re update the firmware (to remove the glitches I mentioned above. The phone says no updates are available :( so looks like I am stuck with what I have
     
  6. galaxyace152

    galaxyace152 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    161
    38
    53
    India
    Kies is shit! Use odin! It its the best!
     
  7. coolboy1000

    coolboy1000 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    Jun 7, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Product Design
    Mumbai
    I found some major problems with my Ace after upgrading from 2.3.5 to 2.3.6 ver.
    1. Sometimes contacts menu/dial pad takes too much time to open. Most of times a blank dark screen appears and becomes irritatingly slow. If contact list got opened, position of contact name displayed are not in their actual position while scrolling. So as soon as I dial contact, it actually dial another adjacent contact & you end up with talking to a wrong person. This happened with me many times.
    3. While talking, it doesn't turn off the touch screen so keys got pressed & sometimes calls got ended.
    4. Some times if you click on icons it opens for a while & disappears sudden.
    I regret why I upgrade to 2.3.6 ver!:(
     
  8. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    Would appreciate if you check out my post mentioned in the link above & give your experience regarding to those issues.
     
  9. Mackinon

    Mackinon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    252
    29
    43
    Male
    Developer
    Bangalore, India
    Me too now starting to get some delays in opening contacts or messages and sometimes even app drawer.. i hope this is not due to the memory card update i did recently from stock to 16gb class 4 sd card.. also to improve the performance of my phone, i have no much apps installed and also not using any task killers.
     
  10. vinuorye

    vinuorye Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012

    Apr 12, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    i m also facing the same problems as mentioned above.. whats the solution ... help mee
     
  11. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    Is any one facing this, I am not sure its a problem. Even Samsung Service center where I went for other problems were perplexed by it. If I gently shake my phone left to right when its facing upwards the vibrator toggles on or off. Is this only my phone or has any one also noticed it. :eek:
     
  12. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    Anyone tried this :)
     
  13. Marcha

    Marcha Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011

    Dec 29, 2011
    249
    48
    63
    Netherlands
    I've tried it, not a sign of any vibrating here! (But my version is 2.3.5).
     
    socrates0 likes this.
  14. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

  15. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    Thanks. I am on 2.3.6 If the vibrator is 'on' then it switches 'off' with the next shake (as mentioned above) it comes 'on' again. It toggles off/on/off. I am wondering if its worth going back to the service center when they had shown total ignorance about it when I mentioned it to them.:eek:
     
  16. Mackinon

    Mackinon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    252
    29
    43
    Male
    Developer
    Bangalore, India
    reset your phone to factory settings and clear the cache memory and if still you have the problem then its a hardware issue...
     
  17. galaxyace152

    galaxyace152 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011

    Aug 17, 2011
    161
    38
    53
    India
    I don't have any problems mentioned above. My firmware works as smooth as silk. I'm using stock DDKQ8 2.3.6.
     
  18. Mackinon

    Mackinon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    252
    29
    43
    Male
    Developer
    Bangalore, India
    may be you have a app like flip to silent which activates your vibration when you try to shake or flip it.... that is the only logical explanation...so i said resting may solve the problem.
     
  19. socrates0

    socrates0 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    418
    Joined:
    May 12, 2011

    I had done this before I gave it to Samsung Service center but no luck & when I was there I mentioned it to the engineer but he was zapped by what I said. It seems to dutifully works as a toggle :) but so far I was wondering if it was a hidden gem :D looks more like a rock. Of course I am still wondering whether to go back to them again as just for reloading the OS again they have badly scratched the phone. :eek: :(

    The only apps I have loaded are
    App 2 SD (move app to SD) by Sam Lu
    Battery Notifier (Big Text) by Shkil/larryvgs
    Expense Manager by BiShiNews
    First aid by British Red Cross by British Red Cross
    Opera Mini web browser by Opera Software ASA
    Tiny Flashlight + LED by Nikolay Ananiev
     
  20. kicsrules

    kicsrules Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012

    Apr 5, 2012
    33
    2
    16
    i have 2.3.6, performace is same as before, but now battery lasts a little longer on 2g, 3g + gps drains battery in 15 min :/


    contacts sometimes takes a long time to load, i havent had a single day that i have to reboot the phone, even ... it already rebooted on me, like the sdcard got unmounted and then mounted again... im really looking forward for a modded rom....

    any suggestions ?
     
  21. tijoillick

    tijoillick Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Kerala
    Hi,

    Even i am experiencing similar problems with my Ace S5830 after upgrading to 2.3.6. I updated via Kies.

    -Contacts taking time to load.
    -SmS taking time to load.
    -Call logs taking time to load.
    -Lag to populate Home screen apps when i come back from Browser Etc.

    Somebody please help!!!

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  22. Mackinon

    Mackinon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012

    Jan 24, 2012
    252
    29
    43
    Male
    Developer
    Bangalore, India
    wifi does not switch on many times it shows error in wifi settings... only way i can get it working is to restart the phone other wise i have no reason to restart my phone at all...

    this is the only problem i am facing with the phone... lil lag is still okey......
     
  23. LINGAM

    LINGAM Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011

    Jul 21, 2011
    25
    0
    15
    Hi
    my ace's version is2.3.6.base band: S5830xwkt3.kernel version; 2.6.35.7-perf-cl787041: root@DELL86#1. BUILD NO - GINGERBREAD.XWKT7.

    I had wi-fi connection problems which i solved with the help of members here who provided a link to another site which guided me to use manually input IP address.thanks to them.
    now to other problem - gps not working. i read the advice in another thread here but that seems to apply to rooted phones .my phone is not rooted and i do not want to root it. so any advice is appreciated and welcome.thanks in advance.
    i am in India. phone was bought in Singapore seems to have the German version. at least the stock version which came with the phone had the German version. i upgraded through kies to the latest version
     
  24. bubu7695

    bubu7695 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013

    Feb 18, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    I also have a problem with my Ace after update to 2.3.6. When I am editing a photo in instagram my phone is restarting. I have already reinstall the app, but I don't know what to do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...