1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Req's 900MHZ kernel is compatible with Admiral Beast ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Perry.Saints, Apr 24, 2012.

  1. Perry.Saints

    Perry.Saints Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    41
    10
    18
    fashion , visual merchandiser
    Dallas, Tx
    So I was messing around with my phone in links 2sd ( dangerous) while using the stock ++ rom. I deleted something accidentally and setcpu would force close. So I decided to reboot my phone and see what's what. It boot looped. :( I decided I had no desire to continue using stock ++ so I would just return to admiral beast. Oddly it felt faster and more stable ; Stock ++ would freeze up randomly. So anyway, I wiped: cache, sd card, aystem , battert stats,data and davlik . I tried to get my.phone into download mode so I could load the original CWM via ODIN. No luck , I have a second admire though :) I tested to make sure I was doing the right button combo to make the phone go into download mode. I was but it wouldn't initialize. It would just bootloop. However , I could still boot into the version of.recovery required to load the kernel/stock ++. So feeling two cups of coffee daring , I decided screw it , and went ahead mounted the usb , placed cwm-admiral beast zip on my as card and flash That bad boy. Not only did the room flash , but now I have admiral beast back on my admire but running the new kernel. I can over clock to 900mhz. My phones odexed, etc. I've been running it since this morning and its stable and markedly faster. Just thought id let everyone know. NOTE: IF YOU ATTEMPT TO DUPLICATE THIS DO SO AT YOUR OWN EXPENSE. REMEMBER TO MAKE A BACK UP OF EVERYTHING LIKE I DID. USE A COMPUTER TO STORE THAT CRAP
     

    Advertisement

    slogold and bart2201 like this.
  2. R3m1

    R3m1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012

    Mar 27, 2012
    26
    1
    16
    Suhweet! i will try that when i get home... So excited :) Thanks! :):)
     
  3. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    All you should have to do is flash stock++, mount system, and flash any other stock-based ROM (aka Admiral Beast). Unless the ROM's updater script formats things back to rfs, you shouldn't have issues.
     
  4. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    Can it stay ext4 though? Anyway to make /system, /data, and /cache ext4 like in stock++?
    please dont say no there must be a way
     
  5. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    My kernels and recovery are only ext4. Which is why you have to flash Stock++ first.
     
    SamsungAdmire likes this.
  6. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    thanks!! i have stock++ but i always loved beast's look so yah.
     
  7. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    wait, will it support init.d?
     
  8. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    Probably not.
     
  9. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    shit. Sticking to stock++ i guess!
     
  10. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    Try this: Take the system/app and system/framework from Admiral Beast, and copy them over the system/app and system/framework folders in the Stock++ zip and flash it. Might give you the theme, and still be Stock++'ish.
     
    SamsungAdmire likes this.
  11. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    ill try latur.
     
  12. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    Lmao it worked thanks
    Now time to reconfigure all over again
     
  13. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    No problem. Should work with any themed ROM based on stock. Maybe upload the zip somewhere for others who would like it as well. Congrats, you just made your first 'ROM' :p
     
    SamsungAdmire likes this.
  14. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    Also, no need to reconfigure, just advanced restore data from one of your nandroids.
     
  15. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    i always forget about the restore data part
    fml
     
  16. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    lol yeah i'll see if i'll upload it later, there were some deodexed apks and some odexed so yeah i'll see
     
  17. SamsungAdmire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,253
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012

    Feb 7, 2012
    1,253
    123
    163
    Before uploading i'll add some more tweaks to your stock++/admiral beast . Tomorrow i'll explain in the thread..
     
  18. requisite0

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Mar 21, 2011
    407
    369
    88
    No you are not allowed~?!@#?$2395345

    thief!

    Rape!

    :p
     
  19. MysteryEmotion

    MysteryEmotion Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    353
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011

    Dec 9, 2011
    353
    182
    68
    If I remember correctly I already had init.d tweaks built into the ROM. they just didn't work cause I didn't have a kernel with init.d support. So using my ROM with req kernel you should notice a difference. Also if you look at genvodot latest ROM I gave him a package of scripts to use. So if need be you call pull those if I didn't leave any scripts in my ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...