1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root ROOTING For Dummies

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Matlock, Oct 7, 2010.

  1. nick1313

    nick1313 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    509
    250
    93
    IT Technician
    Missouri
    1. Yes Wipe all except SD Card.
    2. SD EXT is where DT a2sd stores your apps
    3. android Secure is where some apps get stored, like angry birds. Not sure the real reason why, I think it just has something to do with the size of the app, not sure though
    4. DT is part of MikG yes, all a2sd reinstall does is ensure that all the flags are in place for your apps when you install them, be sure to do this before you restore apps. You may not have to run that command but it doesn't hurt to do it just to cover your bases, because technically Mik's roms, DT, recognize the sd ext and automatically put them where they need to go, but I just like to be sure.
     

    Advertisement

    Baze likes this.
  2. Baze

    Baze Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Ok, how do I do an a2sd reinstall?
     
  3. nick1313

    nick1313 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    509
    250
    93
    IT Technician
    Missouri
    See this post here.
     
    Baze likes this.
  4. sellout007

    sellout007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    Ok been a long time just want to make sure I do things right here.


    I got a new phone (trying out photon 4g) and am giving my evo 4g to my wife. I need to remove my gmail account associated on the phone and add hers as the primary.

    To do this I need to do a factory data reset. If I do that, this will erase my gmail but will also erase mikfoyo from my phone correct and I will be back at a stock rom?

    I need to becareful and prepared as my phone is my only internet access through the wireless tether app. If I kill that I have no way to get back here to reroot *lol*


    BTW is there an unrevoked for the Photon?
     
  5. nick1313

    nick1313 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    509
    250
    93
    IT Technician
    Missouri
    Just factory reset and put MikG 2.55 on there and when you go to set up the phone just add her email on there instead of yours.
     
  6. sellout007

    sellout007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    31
    0
    15


    Ok so I just DL that on the phone before I reset. BTW is that gingerbread? I think I am running 4.6 or something its been a few months apparently haha.


    *off to read more on the photon, E3d and the Epic4g. After just a day, I miss the sense based rom....
     
  7. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yes mikg is gingerbread.

    and if you want to root your photon here it a great thread with vidoes:
    http://androidforums.com/photon-4g-...h-roms-kernels-themes-9-videos-9-27-11-a.html
     
  8. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    I'm trying to unroot my phone back to stock sense (i'm selling it and the person wants it stock). I'm stuck at the after rooting section 3, where I need to download the PC36IMG.zip that matches my hboot version. My hboot version is 2.10.0001, but I can't find the PC36IMG.zip for that version. I clicked on the link for the full list of them but to no avail - none of those links say hboot anywhere in their name, so I have no idea which ones they are for. Can anyone help a novice rooter (unrooter) out? Thanks ya'll.
     
  9. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    here is the a working link for you:PC36IMG_SuperSonic_S_Sprint_WWE_3.70.651.1_Radio_2.15.00.11.19_NV_1.90_release_161482_signed.zip
     
    josh48315 likes this.
  10. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks ocnbrze. How were you able to know that it was the right one?

    Edit: I'm now stuck at step 7 in the Flash Zip step. I get to the ClockworkMod Recovery v2.6.0.1 screen, and the step states to "select 'unrevoked-foreverson.zip' in the selection area", but it is not present in the main screen. I have an "apply sdcard:update.zip", is that the same thing or do I not touch that?

    I do have an "install zip from sd card" option, if I select that it takes me to another screen with an option to "choose zip from sd card", if I select that, it takes me to a list of stuff on my sd card and the "unrevoked-foreverson.zip" is in there. If I select it, it asks "Confirm install? Install unrevoked-foreverson.zip? Yes? THIS CANNOT BE UNDONE." Should I select it using that method, or should I only be selecting it from the homescreen of ClockworkMod Recovery? The steps don't really specify, so I wanted to check first.

    Thanks! And sorry if this is a dumb question but i'm a noob and it's the best way to learn : )
     
  11. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    hopefully you have done this already (i know it is kind of late) but basically what you are doing is flashing the s-on tool. so yes select install from zip and select the s-on tool. once you have s-on then you need to install the PC36IMG file in hboot and you are good to go.
     
    josh48315 likes this.
  12. brianh1771

    brianh1771 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I rooted my phone (Froyo Op System) and now I want to update to gingerbread op sys. Did I miss something on how to do this? There are so many posts in these threads that I cant make heads or tails of what to do to get Gingerbread on my rooted phone that is operating with Froyo.

    Help direct me on this please.

    Thank you! :)
     
  13. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    to get updated is really easy to do. all you have to do is flash a gingerbread rom and you are up to date. for a list of the current gingerbread sense roms out take a look at the roms/kernel sticky:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all-things-root/284413-roms-kernels-download-page.html. i would try out mikg2.55. really fast and very stable. it has elements of sense 2.1 and sense 3.0 built in.

    the only thing else if you want to do is update your radios. you do not have to do it, if you do not want to, though. it is not necessary. some people have reported better signal and thus better battery life and some like me have not seen any difference. so updating radios is entirely up to you. please read this if you are considering it though:http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-all...before-you-flash-your-radios-read-thread.html. do not let the warnings scare you. it is just something to be aware of when you do update them.
     
  14. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Okay, so I finished unrooting, and all of my settings are gone and are back to default settings. I think this is normal. However all of my apps are gone, but my SD card is still full like it was before, so they didn't get deleted. Why would they not be showing up? Also I cannot connect to WiFi. It's stuck at obtaining IP address....
     
  15. sellout007

    sellout007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    31
    0
    15
    Took back the Photon and grabbed the 3DO. The photon 3g speeds seemed half of what my old evo4g were. Not sure if this is much better yet.

    Anywho, give me the quick lowdown on what ROM has the most features working? The only must is need 3g/3g tethering.
     
  16. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    So I got WiFi to connect, turns out all I had to do was reset my wireless router, then the EVO 4G was able to recognize it. But I still seem to have lost all of my apps. After unrooting, all of my personal phone settings were gone and are back to default settings. Like I said, I think this is normal. However all of my apps are gone, even though my SD card is still pretty full like it was before, so my apps and SD info did not get wiped when I performed the unroot. Why would my apps they not be showing up? My pictures and videos on my SD card are showing when I go to the gallery, but my apps are nowhere to be found. Any idea? Please help! :O
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    it depends on how you move your apps to the sd card. if you just used apps2sd which is used by apps on the market or by going into settings/apps/manage apps/move to sd, that will only move part of the app. with apps2sd only part of the app is on your card, the rest of the app is still on your card. so when you unroot or wipe your phone, the main part of the app will be gone while the other part of the app will still be in your card. so that is why you can't install your apps.
     
    josh48315 likes this.
  18. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    Thanks ocnbrze. So is there any way to get my apps back and all of their individual app settings? Or do I just have to redownload them all and start from scratch?
     
  19. brianh1771

    brianh1771 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Ok trying to flash 'MikG-2.55-signed.zip' (using clockwork mod), i go through and clear everything and do a factory reset and goto the 'update from .zip file on SD card' and screen reads:

    --Installing: /sdcard/MikG-v2.55-signed.zip
    Finding update package...
    Opening update package...
    Verifying update package...
    E:signature verification failed
    Installation aborted.

    Help please, growing tired, getting weak.:thinking:
     
  20. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    are you wiping at least dalvik cache, cache, and data? also you may want to try and re-download the file and re-flash it.
     
  21. brianh1771

    brianh1771 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    Well thanks for a quick reply, yes i cleared everything out. Did it multiple times.

    I did get it to flash to the phone this last time, not sure why, but it works now. thanks again.
     
  22. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    So is there any way to get my apps back, and all of their individual app settings? Or do I just have to redownload them and start all over from scratch?

    Also, when you say "with apps2sd only part of the app is on your card, the rest of the app is still on your card" shouldn't one of those say phone and not card?

    Thanks for all of your help. You really know your way around this kind of stuff :)
     
  23. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    the only way is if you had a nandroid backup before you unrooted your phone. if you do not then there is no way of getting your apps back. or if you have made a titanium backup of your apps and data.

    and yes you are correct with the apps2sd. i did mean that the part on your phone will get wiped when you unroot or when you flash a rom, so that the remaining part on your card will be useless.
     
    josh48315 likes this.
  24. josh48315

    josh48315 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    I did do a nandroid backup, but I did it when I was rooted. I am currently unrooted, so can I get all my stuff back since I did the nandroid when I was rooted, or does it not matter? How do I go about doing that?
     
  25. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,861
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,861
    16,809
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    you have to be rooted again to get them back as of right now, there is not much you can do.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...