• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Samsung Galaxy Ace 'not connected'

pabz

Lurker
Aug 15, 2011
Hi everyone! I'm new to Android, having just bought a Samsung Galaxy Ace, and I am already struggling on a fairly crucial point.

I have installed Kies and New PC Studio, however...

When connected to any of the above operating systems on 2 different computers the phone charges but does not recognise the PC / Mac and the PC / Mac does not recognise the phone, which of course means that Kies and New PC studio do not detect it either. So, among other problems, I cannot currently receive any necessary software updates through these programs.

Kies does not say 'connecting': it behaves as if nothing has changed when the phone is plugged in.

I have read that by bringing down the top menu (on the phone) and selecting the USB mode this would solve it, but the USB mode is not even present on this menu! I have tried with USB debugging mode on AND off.

I have tried uninstalling, reinstalling all software on the PC / Mac, downloaded the USB drivers for the phone, installed them, shutting the phone, PC and Mac down and restarting...

I tried booting in Windows 7 safe mode, and the phone was recognised as a mass storage device but when I clicked on the icon I got the following message: "insert disk into mass storage disk".

I can unplug the mem card and download files onto that using an SD card adapter, but naturally I would like the phone and computer to communicate via USB to ensure firmware updates and other basic features are possible.

I am happy to have a solution on for Mac Os Leopard, Windows Xp or Windows 7 for now, but I primarily use Leopard, so that would be ideal.