1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

So Fresh...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by droid51378, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. droid51378

    droid51378 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    267
    16
    38
    5-0
    Mississippi
    A special thanks to Nick325i. I am rooted, rom'd and Fresh.

    Thanks again Nick
     

    Advertisement

  2. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    Freshhhh!
     
  3. VinceO

    VinceO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    106
    6
    36
    California
    Soooo, what does this "Fresh" do?
     
  4. Herodroid

    Herodroid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    123
    48
    43
    It's a custom ROM that removes some of the Sprint crap that comes installed on the phone.
     
  5. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    Removes all sprint bloatware.
    Optimized .apk files for faster loading of all programs. (including rosie/sense)
    Different animation for screen changing.
    Clear lock screen
    Custom status bar icons
    Sweet linux emulated bootscreen
    Installs apps Wi-fi tether and spare parts

    Overall the phone is faster and more pleasureable.
     
  6. sr1982

    sr1982 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009

    Oct 4, 2009
    153
    1
    36
    I would like to Root my phone, but to be honest I am a bit intimidated. I also only have Macs in my house...
     
  7. acp

    acp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    996
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    996
    71
    78
    congrats!

    I'm impressed with the help offered by nick and others in this forum, let us know how you like it.
     
  8. Jaredr

    Jaredr Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009

    Nov 24, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    I have been running fresh 1.0 for a day now and I am sold on it. Everything seems to run so much better. I'm not really understanding the clear lock screen though as I still have a background.
     
  9. VinceO

    VinceO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    106
    6
    36
    California
    What is considered bloatware? I may be interested in doing this as well...
     
  10. lv2bll

    lv2bll Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    79
    2
    16
    What is considered bloatware? I may be interested in doing this as well...

    sprint nascar, stocks, ect...

    I would like to Root my phone, but to be honest I am a bit intimidated. I also only have Macs in my house...

    you can try the flashrec method, its very easy and you dont need a computer
    How To: Root Your Sprint Hero in One Click! | The Unlockr
    just use RA-heroc-v1.5.1 recovery img and fresh 1.0(go to xda developers)
     
  11. VinceO

    VinceO Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    106
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    106
    6
    36
    California
    How is that possible when below this is what it says...

    (4. Plug the phone into the compuer via USB, then pull down the notification bar and click on the SD card notification. Then click mount.)
     
  12. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    Is the phone loaded with the Fresh ROM supposed to take that long to startup each time you power it off/on? It seems like it's nearly doubled in time to turn back on...
     
  13. nick325i

    nick325i Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009

    Nov 11, 2009
    491
    189
    68
    The first time it boots up it takes longer.

    From there it takes a few seconds less than stock i believe. I don't mind because atleast i see it doing something instead of just an HTC logo.
     
  14. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    But even the next 4 or 5 times I've rebooted it it seems to take longer to start up. Not really a problem, just an annoyance I guess
     
  15. poorboy8u

    poorboy8u Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009

    Sep 23, 2009
    3
    0
    5
    Is anyone else having trouble getting the recovery image from the zip file on geek's site?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...