• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Update Desire to JellyBean- do I need to root?

CarterC

Lurker
Dec 30, 2012
Hey

I'm a noob with this so plez be tolerant. Yesterday I sim-unlocked my HTC Desire, apart from that I've done nothing that could complicate things.

I just want to update my operating system(?) so that the phone is more efficient and has more internal space.
I was following a guide on ibtimes about installing the 'CyanogenMod 10 ROM' in order to update to JellyBean.
However when I got to the 'recovery' stage, I got a picture of the phone with a red warning triangle- which I'm led to believe via reading stuff on here means I haven't rooted the phone?

Soo do I need to root the phone? And if so, how exactly? I downloaded the app 'ROM Manager' which I thought was the same thing as 'ClockworkMod Recovery' as it's by the same people and the only (free) app they offer?
But also after reading stuff on here people are saying not to use ROM Manager?

Help much appreciated

Hi CarterC, and welcome to AF :)

Yes, you do indeed need to root in order to install a custom ROM. Everything ROM Manager does you can do from a custom recovery (that is, a more capable replacement for the very limited recovery program HTC provide). You install a custom recovery as part of the rooting procedure, so ROM Manager is totally redundant, as well as having a tendency to cause problems on the Desire.

The best place to start is in the Desire All Things Root Guide sticky post in this forum. Read the rooting faq in there first. Then it's worth reading the root memory faq, since some of what is described there (partitioning the SD card) will be needed if you both want JellyBean and more space. For rooting itself I suggest the using Revolutionary - again, there's a guide to using that linked in the sticky post.