1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General 4.3 update Discussion and issues HERE !!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ccccsdad, Nov 19, 2013.

  1. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Update: looks like Samsung fixed the Samsung hub. I have access to my movies again.

    But still hate 4.3 in general.
     

    Advertisement

  2. willis68nova

    willis68nova Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    82
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012

    Nov 1, 2012
    82
    8
    16
    I to am having the battery drain issues after the 4.3 update. I saw some users stated it could be a Knox issue. Know is showing in my application manager list but not in my app drawer so I believe it is not running. Two other suggestions were to format your sdcard with 4.3 and to do a factory reset. The phone is charging as we speak and I formatted the sdcard....and I am doing a factory reset soon too. I will report back. Thanks!
     
  3. TehSamm

    TehSamm Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013

    Dec 6, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Female
    Liquor Sales Clerk
    Canada
    My mom updated her Note 2 to 4.3 but now every time she gets in her car and it connects to her bluetooth it tries to call her own number. Then she gets weird errors like not being able to play music because she is "in a call". It persists until she restarts her phone. Any idea what could be causing this??

    Update:
    She tried unpairing her phone from her cars bluetooth to re-pair it and now it wont pair at all.
     
  4. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Agreed... It also removed things too... :mad:

    If looking for stock ROMs, check out Sammobile. As well as XDA for ODIN to flash it.

    Smart move... :D
     
    DaytonKiwi likes this.
  5. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    That's interesting, I have Knox in my app drawer, but not installed (it's a 154MB file I have to download/install). I left it well alone. All the other stuff is already giving me a headache. Don't want to add another layer to it... :rolleyes:
     
  6. wyndslash

    wyndslash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,556
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    4,556
    359
    183
    Female
    I did a factory reset after updating but it's still lagging.
     
  7. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Within settings or Android Recovery Console? If done through settings, maybe try using the Android Recovery Console.

    Not sure what is causing your lag. Did you check the RAM usage? I know the first few times I played with it, it was high (left with about 200MB any given time). But after a few hard wipes, it seems to be a little better. But still sitting at around 400-500MB free RAM. I find I need to clear it more often than before now.
     
  8. wyndslash

    wyndslash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,556
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    4,556
    359
    183
    Female
    Where can I find the android recover console?
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #16
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    19,963
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,963
    9,574
    1,443
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Moved your post here, since this is a 4.3 related question, you will get more help and results here, cheers

    She might have to do a factory reset, once you take a large OTA update, it is always usually best to do a FR after the update, to clean out the system, she might need to do this, but wait and see what others say.
     
  10. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    To boot into Android Recovery Console, completely power down the device. Then press and hold the Volume Up, Home and Power buttons down altogether. When the Note II splash screen appears, only release the Power button while still holding down the Volume Up and Home buttons.

    When you see the green guy appear, you can release the buttons. You will boot into the Console. To navigate, use the Volume Up and Down buttons to move up and down the menu. Use the Power button to select the highlighted choice.

    If you do a factory reset, clear the cache first. Then do 3 hard resets back to back. Then reboot. I'm hoping this might clear the lag issue and give the update a cleaner slate. Here's hoping this works for you.
     
  11. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Also if a factory reset is required, make sure a proper backup is done first as this will wipe everything off the device.
     
  12. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    I will be keeping 4.3 on my Note 2 and going to live with it's butt ugly UI, notifications and what not. Will forego the handwriting and go more with Swype. Also setup a row in the homescreen for the shortcuts that used to reside on the swipe lock screen as a work around. As for S Voice, I'll miss playing with the open S Voice command (especially with "My Precious"; it was fun and a good stress reliever).

    Those that have battery drain, do you have any sensors turned on? I noticed my battery take a nose dive the moment I started using some motion features, smart stay and other things during my testing. At the moment, I've turned a few things of those off (that I don't really have a need for) and see how things settle.

    I think I only got 3 hours screen time and was down to 20% after heavy usage with data (LTE about an hour) and Wi-Fi (doing massive downloads and installs). But overall runtime of about 15 hours. Good news for me is that the move to SD allows me to keep apps and not resort to uninstalling and reinstalling to constantly free up internal storage. I've practically doubled the amount of apps I can use and play with. That is the only reason I am keeping 4.3.

    Well, trial run is over and I'll be doing another hard reset and fully configuring it.
     
    almath likes this.
  13. sanvar1

    sanvar1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013

    Dec 7, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    The battery drain problem is what I also am facing but it is because of the auto wake up of the display after 4.3 update... Couldn't figure out why
     
  14. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    That's interesting.

    The only time I had this occur was when I had quick glance active in the motion settings. The screen kept going off and on like it was going crazy. But it was more from where it was situated and how I was positioned. I guess it picked my position as trying to reach for the phone to do a quick glance. Needless to say, I quickly turned that feature off.
     
  15. wyndslash

    wyndslash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,556
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    4,556
    359
    183
    Female
    I already did a factory reset. Can I just clear the cache?
     
  16. wyndslash

    wyndslash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,556
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    4,556
    359
    183
    Female
    Okay cleared cache and rebooted. Seems fine now...
     
  17. rsmin

    rsmin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010

    Nov 15, 2010
    136
    11
    38
    Apps to SD is what I am looking forward to and Galaxy Gear compatability..
     
  18. wyndslash

    wyndslash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    4,556
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012

    Aug 8, 2012
    4,556
    359
    183
    Female
    Yeah, the apps to sd card is great. I saved my games there so I don't lose my progress if I do a hard reset.
     
  19. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    Good to hear. :)
     
  20. almath

    almath Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    835
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    835
    3,205
    283
    Female
    St. Louis
    Um this update notification is relentless...
     
  21. NeoGrandizer

    NeoGrandizer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    1,699
    441
    183
    And you can't turn it off (unlike some of us who can)... :mad:

    Just a thought, maybe clear the cache and force stop software update app? I don't think you can disable it, but maybe give you a grace period before it bugs you again. Not sure how some one in your situation can totally disable the automatic update.
     
  22. almath

    almath Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    835
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    835
    3,205
    283
    Female
    St. Louis
    I forced stopped the system update app this morning, that thing is back on and notifying me every 30 minutes. It just "pops up" on screen out of nowhere, I'm gonna accidentally hit install now. Apps to sd is so tempting....
     
  23. DaytonKiwi

    DaytonKiwi Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013

    Dec 5, 2013
    6
    0
    5
    Nnnoooooooo dont do it!!!!!!!
     
  24. almath

    almath Android Expert
    Rank:
     #62
    Points:
    283
    Posts:
    835
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012

    Sep 1, 2012
    835
    3,205
    283
    Female
    St. Louis
    Ok!
     
  25. evohicks

    evohicks Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    1,057
    193
    143
    Male
    Shropshire, UK
    Sooo tempting :)
    I think I will still probably update when it "finally" gets to us in the UK, the things that Neo has reported missing or changed wouldn't really affect me to any great extent and it looks like any bugs seem to get ironed out with a factory reset etc..
    Its great that we have this thread to help with issues, thanks to you guys for the input.
     

Share This Page

Loading...