1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Do you have a tip/trick for ICS? Post it here.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by VeryEvilAsh, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I wanted to remind everyone of an app that I believe will become increasingly handy as time goes on. I awoke this morning to my notification bar being drowned in advertisements and realized I had forgot to download Addons Detector. For those who have never used it, it simply shows you what apps you've downloaded that have certain abilities. The most crucial, imo, is that of the "Push Notifications". If you have an app that has this permission, you're sure to receive a fair amount of ads that pop up as notifications.

    The app does not have the power to delete said apps, however it will allow you to click on the name of it, which opens up the app info page (where you can choose to uninstall). More and more apps are gaining these permissions. Unless you go so far as to download something contained in these ads, I do not believe you have anything to worry about as far as a virus is concerned, however if you are annoyed at the very sight of these ads (as I am), don't forget to download Addons Detector. There is also an open-source version of the app called Airpush Detector that would work as well.

    Hope this helps! Good luck Nexicans!

    AddonsD.jpg
     

    Advertisement

    dstevens63 and metlcat like this.
  2. Travisimo

    Travisimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    455
    88
    53
    USA
    I am blown away by how well Face Unlock works! I was worried after seeing those failed demos online before the phone came out. However, in my experience, it works both quickly and accurately in all kinds of lighting (obviously not complete darkness, but works well even in low light). Obviously, it's not the most secure lock option since it can be fooled by a photo, but it's very slick.
     
    gaajiwaaih and xGalaxyNexusx like this.
  3. Travisimo

    Travisimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    455
    88
    53
    USA
    I'm wondering this as well. As much as I love Lightflow, I had to stop using it because it completely takes control of the LED light, even for apps it doesn't support or ones you don't want it to use.

    For example, I turned Lightflow off for K-9 email because K-9 itself allows different colors for each mail account (which Lightflow doesn't do). But if I have Lightflow installed, K-9's LED control does not work and there is no notification LED.

    Similarly, Google Voice is not in Lightflow that I've seen, but it has it's own LED notification options. However, with Lightflow installed, they don't seem to work (the LED light does not blink with Lightflow installed).

    In summary, Lightflow is great for the apps its supports, but it completely disables the LED for anything outside of Lightflow.
     
  4. atrain311

    atrain311 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,421
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    1,421
    435
    163
    Male
    1st-grade Teacher & Adjunct Professor
    Queensbury, NY

    I can't speak for K-9, but found out that the paid version covers Astrid. The paid version covers a few more apps too, so I bought it, but I don't think K-9 was one of them. :(
     
  5. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I just thought the LED was too crappy to not have Light Flow going. Before I bought the pro version, I probably saw the LED flash once, maybe twice, in two days. It wasn't flashing for texts, emails or anything... not consistently at least. I had triple checked the settings to ensure I had everything on correctly, so I know that wasn't the issue. I wasn't the only one either, as a couple people I know experienced similar issues and it was a common complaint in the threads.

    So while I agree that I'd prefer to have it not disable the stock options, I just think it's perfect now that all of the alerts I truly care about work without hesitation. This is obviously just a preference thing and should be decided by each user. Possibly if an upgrade claimed it fixed the LED notifications, I'd consider tucking Light Flow away for a rainy day, but for now I'm really enjoying the different vibration patterns, colors and flash speeds for individual apps.
     
  6. pool_shark

    pool_shark Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,521
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010

    Aug 21, 2010
    2,521
    589
    343
    Male
    Infrastructure Engineer
    Ohio
    Download a file explorer such as ES file explorer or astro, navigate to the folder where your pics reside, press and hold the pic, rename.
     
  7. jgordon00

    jgordon00 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    Two questions I have since playing with my Gnex:

    1) How do you get to the downloads from within the browser? This used to be easy in the stock Gingerbread browser, but I see no option in the new stock browser. The only way I can get to the downloads is to go the app called "Downloads" from the drawer. Seems like an annoying way to get to it.

    2) One feature I miss from Cyanogen is that I can have the phone prompt me for security unlocks only after a set time. So if I pick up the phone, unlock it using face or pattern and then turn it off -- when I pick it up 10 seconds later, it should go right to the screen without prompting for unlock. In CM7 I could tell it not to prompt for security until 10 minutes had gone by. Any thoughts on this?
     
  8. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    497
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011

    Oct 26, 2011
    497
    176
    93
    2 is definitely in the settings, sorry i don't remember which, i believe under security and then under lock
     
  9. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    AirDroid is awesome. Absolutely kickass. I would have paid for this app, seriously... but hey, I won't complain about free!!!
     
  10. jgordon00

    jgordon00 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    23
    2
    16
    I looked. Couldn't find anything that allows the security to go into effect only after a set period.
     
  11. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    1) I'll play around with it, but I use Dolphin Browser HD, so it might not be the same. Why not just open Downloads before going into your Browser, then it'll be in your recent apps menu?

    2)Sorry, can't help you there... I'll get back to you on #1 if I find something easier than what I already suggested.
     
  12. wahoo95

    wahoo95 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    22
    21
    18
    I am coming from a Omnia (win 6.5). On that phone if I clicked on a contact in phonebook I got options to call, sms, mms, email. On my Gnex if I click on a name in the contact list it automatically starts to dial their number. How do i text etc.. I know there is prob a simple answer. thanks all
     
  13. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    546
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    Are you looking at your contacts through the phone app or the people app? I believe the phone app will automatically make a phone call when you tap their name, while the people app will open their contact information and you can text from there. You can also access contacts through the sms app.
     
    wahoo95 likes this.
  14. wahoo95

    wahoo95 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    22
    21
    18

    I feel stoopid. Thank you so very much. I knew it had to be that easy, I sometimes tend to make the easy...difficult.
     
    xGalaxyNexusx likes this.
  15. usfjosh

    usfjosh Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    4
    8
    6
    On the Thunderbolt you can go through your contact list and add people for a mass text message, i have not been able to do that yet on the GN.
     
  16. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    I know you can type all the names in the send to box, not sure how to do it from the contact list yet.
     
  17. politzer

    politzer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    100
    0
    35
    Voice Dialing worked when I first purchased the phone 2 nights ago. I've added a few apps (Spotify, Facebook) and moved somethings around, added email accounts, and now I'm getting "can't find handheld device" error message. I've turned bluetooth both on and off - no help. I talked to CS and they suggested wiping the phone - which I've done, after the usual trouble shooting steps - and it's still not working. CS says at this point there's no other reported instances of this problem.

    Anyone else either having the problem or have a solution?
     
  18. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You can't do it with stock Ice Cream Sandwich, but there are plenty of ways to accomplish the task at hand. Many apps have this option, whether it be a texting app or a contact app. If you don't want to rely on Go SMS or Handcent to do it for you then you can always create a Group out of the message recipients and then message the group. Tons of ways of doing this!! =)
     
    bobwiley likes this.
  19. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Just to confirm what you mean, you did a hard reset and are still getting the issue?
     
  20. politzer

    politzer Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    100
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011

    Nov 19, 2011
    100
    0
    35
    Yes, I hard booted the phone, then did a wipe - returned to factory defaults.
     
  21. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Well I played around with it... you really should download Dolphin Browser HD. Not only do I think it blows the stock browser out of the water, but you'll love the answer to your question if you do... in Dolphin, as soon as you select something to download a message pops up asking you if you want to see the Downloads page. You can then either have it remember your answer, or have it ask you each time. There's also a million different addons to the browser, one of which is a direct link to downloads page.
     
  22. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010

    Aug 5, 2010
    1,525
    969
    233
    N/W Ohio
    I thought I saw people having problems with Dolphin and ICS?
     
  23. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ok, just wanted to make sure. I've run into a few cases of people on forums saying they wiped the phone and come to find out they went and uninstalled all their apps manually and that's it.

    Now I never really use the voice dialing or anything like it, and I've never found a use for bluetooth, but I'm usually pretty good at figuring out problems. I'm an IT guy so it comes with the territory most of the time. So just so I can try and help me get a better mental image of when you are receiving the message. Are you using bluetooth to try and say the numbers out loud and that message pops up on the screen of the GN? Sorry, I just have 0 experience dealing with this sorta thing, but I'll try.
     
  24. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    331
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011

    Dec 10, 2011
    331
    215
    68
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Really? I don't know what it would be? It's extremely smooth, really fast and has so many more things that you can do... what have you heard?
     
  25. HanSolo

    HanSolo Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I'm sure its been ninja'd a million times, but if you go into menu, then labs, then check full screen, you can enable full screen browsing on the web.
     
    famac! and MoPhoMan like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...