1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [How-to] Root via Rasta fastboot exploit and make your phone recoverable from a system wipe

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Willster419, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    This post is currently revision 16 as of 03/23/17
    +Here is the link for the accompanying YouTube vid: How to fully root and foolproof your Casio C771 Commando +

    *You MUST verify your ROM version BEFORE flashing a boot.img! You must get a modded boot.img!*
    #More information in the toolkit readme.txt#
    -I am not responsible for what happens on your phone from your actions.

    All downloads are now on my MEGA here.
    Hey guys,

    So, many of you have probably heard on one forum or another that there IS a was to root (and brick) your phone. Bricking occurs when the "/system" folder, also called the system partition, becomes wiped! One will realize this when they boot their phone to find that the G'zone is not actually, "now loading". However, thanks to the user monkeytools, this "bricking" can be overcome! All that it requires is a windows computer, 32 or 64 bit. However, I do not own Windows 8, so for the drivers working on that, i wish you luck ;) If it does not work, you could build a vm of windows xp or 7...
    This process is good for users who:

    A. Want to develop system ROM's/Updates
    B. Want to have a fallback in case they become 'curious' of the file system
    C. Do not have, or have an expired, warranty. And most importantly,
    D. Those who want ROOT! :)

    There are several instructions that must be followed in order for this to work. If you are not sure about a step or process, it is best to not do it, and ask first.

    OK, now to the juicy stuff!

    1. The first thing to do is download the unbrickable phone toolkit. And read the readme.

    2. Install the adb drivers. On your computer, install the drivers.msi file that came with the toolkit. If it gives you an error about the phone and being connected or not just go to task manager and terminate the process.

    3. Go to your C: drive and make a folder in the root directory called "sdktools". Copy and extract the toolkit's files directly into that folder. The filepath should then be "C:\sdktools"

    3.1 Select your boot.img version. info is in the readme. Rename to boot.img and place in the sdktools directory.

    4. Check to make sure that the adb works properly. On your phone, go to settings->applications->development. If the box for enabling usb debugging is not already checked, check it.

    5. Plug your phone into your computer, and set it to charge only mode from the usb notification. There should also be a notification about usb debugging on.

    6. Verify that the adb and usb drivers are working properly. On your vista/7 computer, press the windows key, and type "device manager", and click it. On 2000/xp computer, go to start->control panel->system->hardware tab->device manager. I hope you know how to on windows 8 ;). In device manger, there should now be a "CASIO C771 Android ADB Interface" device, under android phone category, and a "CASIO C771 USB Composite Device" under "universal serial bus controllers" catagory. If one of both are missing, then it is due to the temperamental drivers. Use IObit Uninstaller to remove the drivers, the do the powerfull scan, and then reboot. Try installing the other drivers "from some random guy" and see if they work any better.

    7A. Disable fastboot security, a.k.a. enable bypass booting. This is when the really dirty work comes in! Plug in your phone to your pc if you have not already done so.(Just checking:)) On you phone, go to the dialpad and put in "##program". SPC is 000000. Go to the Bypass Boot option, and enable it. It will say, "saved". After you back out of the program, the phone will then reboot.

    7B. When the phone is done rebooting, reboot into the bootloader. To do this, after your phone is done rebooting, type the following:
    cd C:\sdktools
    adb reboot bootloader
    the phone will reboot, and then get "stuck" on the unlit g'zone logo. This is good.

    8. Verify that the bootloader is recognized on your pc. Open device manager. There should be a "CASIO C771 Android Bootloader Interface" in the same "android phone" category.

    9. Flash the boot and recovery images to the phone. On the same command prompt from step 7B, Type the following:
    "fastboot -i 0x0409 flash boot boot.img"
    (text should appear about how it was sucessfull.)
    "fastboot -i 0x0409 flash recovery recovery.img"
    (again, same text should appear, but for recovery.)
    "fastboot -i 0x0409 reboot"
    (the phone will reboot with the new recovery and boot image.)
    Those who wanted the boot.img update, you are done. Those who are in for the whole thing, your not quite done yet. ;)

    10. Reboot your phone into the new recovery. When the "CASIO C771 Android ADB Interface" comes back under device manager, type, "adb reboot recovery". Congrates, you now have a custom boot.img and recovery.

    11. From the main menu options, make a nandroid backup of at least boot, recovery, and system. The others are for your own choosing. To navigate the recovery, use the volume up and down buttons to go through the menu options, and the physical menu button to select. The physical back button goes back.

    If you are not rooted,from the menu options, go to developer menu, and select the 'install superuser and su' option. CONGRATS you're rooted!!!

    12. Reboot your phone. Now, your phone can be recovered if the /system is wiped on it, using adb from the computer!


    All I ask is that you press thanks if this helped you.

    +Thanks to MonkeyTools for his boot.img file that I was given permission to modify (Link to origional boot image post)
    +Thanks to GNM for his recovery.img file (Link to recovery file post)
    +Thanks to Rasta for the fastboot exploit (Link to original exploit page)

    Picture for reference: (Please note that "apktool" should now be "sdktools")
    [​IMG]

    Proof that this works: (Please note that "apktool" should now be "sdktools")
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Willster419, Apr 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2017
  2. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    also if anybody wants another version of the blue theme I have one here with a modified custom boot animation. It gets rid of the verizon now loading and replaces it with something else. Modified from m130 blue theme ROM, requirements are the Casio blues ROM(m130) will work with it:
    See Google drive link.
     
    curveman and Genyc07 like this.
  3. chancefavors

    chancefavors Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    ok, my last phone was able to be recovered with this process, but the phone I have now with the same monkeytools boot.img will not work. I accidently rebooted my phone while in recovery after I did a system wipe. I was going to flash a zip and forgot was I was doing and hit reboot. The phone will not show up as adb bootloader only that virtual modem interface.
     
  4. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    One thing that I found was that with the stock ROM by Monkeytools that was made, it includes a possibly different boot image file. If you left that one on there and never put the one from the toolkit on it, that might be the problem.

    Strange, though, that the process would not work. I double-checked it by wiping all three of my devices and they all came back to life. Just for future reference could you post exactly what you did to get it to brick.

    Yes, I said brick. If there is no ADB when you plug it into a computer that you know has adb working, your phone just became a waterproof paperweight. Sorry to hear that. If it's still under warranty, you could try to play dumb. That worked for me a few times..

    ebay is selling these phones pretty cheap now'a'days if your interested to know

    EDIT: The reason why it might have not worked was because your kernel was not at the firmware M130, even though the software was. This happened to me with my m130 rom/ m100 kernel.
     
    Genyc07 likes this.
  5. ral1

    ral1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013

    Apr 26, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Ok... I followed all your steps with my brand new commando and it all worked. How do I get rid of all this junk on the phone?
     
  6. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    In order to get rid of all the Verizon bloatware and other stuff on the phone properly, you need to find a root uninstaller app that will remove the app along with it's data. Personally, I recommend that you install the tools update that I made. It includes some base apps that any root user in my opinion should have, like a root uninstaller, a script manager, a root browser, a flashlight application (that actually works!), and titanium backup. make sure your system folder has 11MB of space for it if you are interested:
    Dev-Host - Tools update[light].zip - The Ultimate Free File Hosting / File Sharing Service
     
  7. loknez

    loknez Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012

    Mar 28, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks willster419 that was easy and quick!
     
  8. Genyc07

    Genyc07 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    219
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013

    Feb 4, 2013
    219
    71
    53
    Male
    Jim Thorpe, PA
    Nice that is a lot easier than the older exploit I used to root my m130 commando. If you want anyone to read through and try to make it clearer for the new guy IDE be happy to take some time. Nice write up tho.
     
  9. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    sure yeah when I get the chance I will pm you with the guide for you to edit. Thanks for volunteering.
     
  10. missime

    missime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    after sucessful flash with fastboot and rooted the phone . i just wanted to use the Modified from m130 blue theme ROM . i update it now its rebooting on android bluewater logo and android pissing on apple logo then restart . only drivers taken in system manager are in the pic . please help here
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    ok. the fact that you were able to root via fastboot tells me that the (fastboot) drivers were installed correctly. Could you scroll up in the pic and tell me if the adb device shows up? If not, then you have to reboot via the hard key recovery in m130 update. To fix I would re-install the ROM and update, but before wipe the cache, data, and dalvic-cache.
     
  12. missime

    missime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    i figured that part out . the adb drivers where not loading up . so i used the hard recovery keys ( voldown+camera+power ) and vola it was in recovery . flashed the offical rom file through recovery and everythign is fine . can u please upload a working modified custom boot animation . i would love to change the verizon part . and can u let me know which app is god for apn change . coz i am using it in india and cant access internet . would be a great help
     
  13. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    congrates on being able to recover. One thing I suggest you to do as soon as possible is that you enable usb debugging on your phone, and then make sure the device shows in device manager. ADB for this phone is like a liferaft. It's important that you have it for the un-expected.

    I have flashed the same custom boot file animation myself and it works fine.
    here is what I did for it to work.
    Wipe data
    Wipe cache
    Wipe dalvik-cache
    install the ROM
    reboot
    free up space on the system partition (i can explain this)
    go back into recovery
    wipe the dalvik-cache
    install the update.

    Also try re-downloading, maybe incomplete file download?

    Also check your system partition when you install the ROM, make sure there is enough space. I had this EXACT problem when I was scratching my head wondering why it would show the regular boot and not the gangnam style boot. It was the size of the file. When you install the update, if it freezes for about 6-10 full seconds, it means that the partition is full and it skips over the step, without spitting out an error. It may say update complete, but you then find out that its not actually when you reboot.

    try these options and tell me which (if any) fix the problem

    -"...which app is go(o)d for apn change" did you mean vpn? To be honest I don't use a vpn but I know that the phone comes with a vpn client apk file. you could try that...
     
  14. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    If you were able to reboot into the bootloader, that means at some point, you opened a command prompt to adb.exe and/or typed, "adb reboot bootloader"? right?

    did I miss something?:thinking:
     
  15. missime

    missime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    no when it got in recovery . i used the other recovery and wipe and the ninstall the office verizon rom which is post here in forum . and i was good to go . i didnt go to bootloader again coz it was booting in recovery and already i had flashed the recovery in the first page and rooted the phone . only after flashing the custom animation it got stuck in boot loop .
     
  16. missime

    missime Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010

    Nov 13, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    i am using it in reliance india network . i registered the number and phone and sms are working but no internet . apn i though it was like gsm phones but its not . and customer service of reliance says that imported handsets they are not responsible . so i guess i am stuck without internet .
     
  17. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    yeah when this phone came out, it was made specifically for Verizon, which was made for CDMA. It's not very GSM friendly. My friend wanted one of my phones, but he was on straight talk, which was on GSM.
     
  18. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    I'm sorry but i'm still not sure how you did it. But I guess what matters is the it is there and installed. So what I would do is make sure that when you plug in your phone, the android debug icon comes up and you can use adb from command prompt. Then reboot into bootloader and install the monkeytools boot.IMG file. Also, after you install the ROM, can you please tell me the free space on your system partition? Titanium Backup will tell you.
     
  19. dispos

    dispos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012

    Nov 2, 2012
    38
    4
    16
    Male
    RBG, 59217
    try using DFS

    what this work for M120, are u sure about recovery shortkey (mean power+camera+vol down),


    sorry for my bad english
     
    Jeff Johnson likes this.
  20. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    yeah sorry man it only works on m130. you might be able to get it to work in the m130 ROM, but can't guarentee it. Did not work with my second phone deactivated at m100
     
  21. dispos

    dispos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012

    Nov 2, 2012
    38
    4
    16
    Male
    RBG, 59217
    Work!! am at M120
    but i cant access via hard key :D
     
  22. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    great to hear!
    so now could you make a nandroid of boot and send it to me?

    EDIT: After working with dispos, the phone at firmware m120 can be put into the hard key recovey!
     
  23. dispos

    dispos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012

    Nov 2, 2012
    38
    4
    16
    Male
    RBG, 59217
    this thread
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  24. curveman

    curveman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    Male
    California
    so I'm fairly new to this.
    in step 5 when i type adb reboot bootloader in the command prompt it tells me "adb is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

    everything seemed to be going fine until step 5. I'm not rooted yet please help


    Never mind that, i figured it out thanks so much willster419
     
  25. curveman

    curveman Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    Male
    California



    How do use this theme. i downloaded the file but i dont quite understand how to load it on my phone can you explain this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...