1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [HOW-TO] Simplified Root + Recovery + Custom ROM

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Whyzor, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. SP1966

    SP1966 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I am stuck at step 7 under Flash Custom Rom. When I try I end up with a blue screen with "Fastboot mode started udc_start()" and then nothing. I can pull the battery and boot into my existing stock system but am unable to proceed with the custom ROM.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!


    Edit: Got it, please ignore the above post. :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    Okay, so since my last post, I downloaded Gingerbreak, and after a few days, I rooted it successfully--thanks, guys! Haven't done much since then, though. Here's my question--I see where I'm supposed to download Busybox from the market and run it. Is this necessary if Titanium Backup already has Busybox? I can see Busybox with TiBac open, and there's a green check by it, but do I need a version outside of TiBac? Sorry if I get annoying, but I really want to get this stuff right. Can't wait to get this bloatware off of my phone, sick of endless updates! I also want more available storage. I guess Link2SD would be next, yes? Thanks for any help.
     
  3. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Titanium has a busy box built in, but other apps can't use it. If you install it from the market, it will be available system wide. You'll find that you need that for other apps.

    And, link2sd would be a good next step. That way you'll have plenty of room for the other apps you wind up installing along the way.
     
  4. singbluesilver

    singbluesilver Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    91
    0
    35
    Female
    I downloaded BusyBox from the market, but it won't install. I tried 1.19.3 and 1.19.2, but each fail. Any help is appreciated, thanks.
     
  5. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    A lot new users are running into this problem right now, AndyOpie150 and I have noticed. Are you comfortable with typing in commands? We're working on a workaround/fix, but it may have you playing in the terminal emulator.
     
  6. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I think we need to get bigsupersquid in on this as well.
     
  7. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
  8. Idun Box

    Idun Box Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    thanks so much for this guide.. I think there's a few details that could be added for complete dummies like me, but overall it got me through the process smoothly.

    the phone is so much more usable now.
     
  9. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    What refinements do you suggest? More input and feedback will only make it better.
     
  10. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    sounds like a linux shell script might be the way to go.
    could be run with terminal, gscript, or sl4a.
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  11. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Damn good idea! You feel like writing it, or shall I? My scripting skills are more than a little rusty, but I'm wiz with research, so I'm sure I could come up with something usable. Eventually....
     
  12. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    heh, you do it :D since you asked.
    need any info, let me know.
    one useful bit:
    android shell scripts should start with the line (i believe)
    Code (Text):
    1. #!/system/bin/sh
    so the terminal or whatever can identify what to run em with.
     
  13. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Good to know (I probably would have nerfed that, I default to bash.) I'll get started on it tonight, but like I said I haven't written scripts in more years than I care to admit. It will take a little while between having to look up things in my old text books, and the wife's doctor appointments, but I should have something workable in a few days. When I'm done, would you be so kind as double check my work, Squid?

    Edit:: Either I'm more out of it than I thought, or it was much easier than I thought. I'm reinstalling the Android SDK right now to test, I really don't want to test this on my phone! Could it possibly be as simple as five lines of code!? Or does it sound like I'm way off base here?
     
    bigsupersquid likes this.
  14. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    yes, it should be pretty small.
    be happy to check it for you.
     
  15. Idun Box

    Idun Box Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    I had some trouble figuring out what to do with this.. I think it needed to be flashed or something.. There was also something about "bumblebox" or whatever that I think was edited out, but I had trouble figuring out what to do with that.

    And I think I had just had trouble finding where "format partitions" was located.. I think most of this can be figured out with simple intuition though.
     
  16. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    I removed the step that requires installing busybox since I updated the link to Flash Image GUI app, which is the app that uses the .img file from the step before.

    I updated OP to make this clearer, it's under Advanced menu.
     
    brotherswing likes this.
  17. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That's good news for all new rooters!

    Edit:: Good news for me too, my script wasn't quite...well, it didn't work. Never found my old text books, (I think my ex-wife did something with them.) Had to try from memory, and I haven't done anything like that in eight years. I may get back into it though, it's tickling parts of my brain long dormant! ;)
     
  18. Idun Box

    Idun Box Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    20
    1
    16
    I really appreciate the help guys! thanks for the great guide
     
  19. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Hey Whyzor, I have a question. If the flash_image GUI allows you to flash the recovery, then you don't need Busybox. Right?
    By not having Busybox installed what can't you do/change? This is my question.
     
  20. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    without busybox, shell commands default to toolbox.
    wimpy, commands barely there, horrid permissions... won't cp across partition boundaries... ugh.
    busybox is like mini-Linux at the command line. you can actually build a working Linux install in a reasonable amount of space (MB instead of GB) with busybox replacing most of /bin.
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  21. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Oh, well in that case, Busybox is still a must have.
     
  22. Whyzor

    Whyzor Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,108
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,108
    966
    213
    I'm trying to keep this guide easy & simple for the beginner, since busybox isn't required to flash another ROM anymore, I removed it. CM7 based ROMs have it installed anyway (may not be the latest bleeding edge release), but I never really had to install busybox separately.
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  23. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    yeah, really, installing busybox is only neccesary if you want to stick with your stock rom but amp up the scripting/terminal functionality. You can get around a lot of the toolbox limitations if you go more old-school with your commands (like cat /path/to/source.file > /path/to/destination.file instead of cp)
    I've noticed that even with busybox installed, stock-based roms seem to be less responsive in the terminal than the cm-based roms.
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  24. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Still good to know.
     
  25. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Ok, so if the CM-7 based ROM's have it installed then when someone has problems with getting Busybox installed, and wants CM-7 installed, then I can just have them try the flash_image GUI app.
    They wont be missing anything if later they want to make some changes to the ROM. Right?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...