• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

need help and pointers please

BTK-appl3killa

Feb 2, 2011
Texas
hello all and thanks for reading, the reason why I'm posting this thread is because I'm going to build my own computer (which i have never done before) and would like to get some help if possible by someone that has done this before

this is what the computer will include in it:

MSI 785GTM-E45 Motherboard

AMD Phenom X4 9750 Quad Core Processor

Masscool 5W1081F1M3 CPU Fan

Lite-On Internal 24X DVD Writer

Crucial 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 Memory x2

Seagate Barracuda 1TB Low Power Hard Drive

PowerUp ATX Black Mid-Tower Case with Power Supply

I see. I wasn't sure what you were asking for.

Here's a link to how to put a PC together. It's much more thorough than what I could explain in a single thread. I'll just add some pointers for you.

Part 3: Putting It All Together : Best Of Tom?s Hardware: How To Build A PC

Pointers:

1. Install the cpu and heatsink on the motherboard first before screwing the board to your case.

2. Electrostatic discharge can damage components such as your motherboard. Like the guide says, the is largely exaggerated. As long as you're not putting it together on carpet in a super dry environment, you should be fine. However, if you want to be extra safe , you can get anti electrostatic bracelets or gloves.

3.The trickiest part in the whole build is installing heatsink on the cpu. Install the brackets first before applying the thermal paste. There are numberous ways to apply the thermal paste. Personally, I put a single dot in the middle and let it spread as you put the heatsink on. Check the link below.

Maximum PC | How-To: Properly Apply Thermal Paste and Install a CPU