1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Trying to move a rooted phone to Ting...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by romanlynch, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Disclaimer: I know nothing about rooting or flashing roms etc.

    I bought an Evo 4g from ebay that has been rooted. When I power up the phone theres an animation that says Avatar. When I hold the volume down button & power up this is what comes up:

    ***TAMPERED***
    ***UNLOCKED***
    JEWEL PUT SHIP S-ON RL
    HBOOT - 1.19.0000
    RADIO - 1.12.11.0809
    OpenDSP - v29.1.0.45.0622
    eMMC - boot
    Aug 9 2012, 15:14:25

    I am trying to move this phone to Ting, I have asked on their forums what I need to do since their steps do not work. ie the ## codes did not do anything. They said that I would have to flash back to stock and then re-root. I tried the to follow mikestony un-root guide, I renamed the zip file and rebooted but it does not give me the option to update like in his guide. I selected recovery and I get a Team Win Recovery Project v2.3.1.0 menu. If I select install I see the PC36IMG.ZIP file, select that and it reads:

    Updating partition details...
    Running boot script...
    Finished running boot script.
    E :Unable to open zip file.
    Error flashing zip '/sdcard2/PC36IMG.zip'
    Updating partition details...
    Failed

    What am I doing wrong?

    Also I read about The.Emilio flash, what are peoples thoughts on that? What other flashes that are popular?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,969
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,969
    16,918
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    welcome to AF!!!!
    STOP!!!!! hold on here,
    looks like you have the evo 4g lte......is this correct? this forum is for the evo 4g(the original evo).
     
    romanlynch and Mikestony like this.
  3. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Not sure, how do I go about figuring that out?
     
  4. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,452
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    I'm pretty sure you do...can you post a pic of the front and back of the device?
     
    romanlynch likes this.
  5. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,969
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,969
    16,918
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    yeah you have the evo lte, the code name for the device is jewel as it is stated in the bootloader.

    is it this?
    [​IMG]
     
    romanlynch likes this.
  6. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    ^-- that looks like mine. Sorry for posting in the wrong forum.
     
  7. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,452
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    No worries :) we can move this thread there.. I cannot at the moment as I am mobile :rolleyes:
     
    ocnbrze and romanlynch like this.
  8. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,433
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,433
    8,791
    1,053
    Drafter
    Went ahead and moved it for you! Sorry I don't have any advice to offer. I don't have any experience flashing to other carriers :(
     
    romanlynch, ocnbrze and Mikestony like this.
  9. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Huge problem.

    PC36IMG.zip files are for the Evo 4G.

    PJ75IMG.zip files are for the Evo 4G LTE.

    Changing partitions or any use of a PC36 file on this phone could result in turning your phone into a paperweight.

    Fortunately, it looks like the installer failed and you weren't hosed.
     
  10. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Good lol. I read about partitioning the sd card, it seems a benefit of this is things load faster. Is that true and is there a tutorial on how to do that?
     
  11. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Where can I find PJ75IMG.zip or can I just use Deodex/odex zips found here

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2045929

    or does it matter? I want to re-root the phone after I get it on Ting. I read about The.Emilio, what is the consensus on that? Are there any other files I could flash to improve the phone?

    Thanks for helping the noob
     
  12. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Here is the latest stock Rom:
    http://d-h.st/users/Captain_Throwback/?fld_id=10308#files

    The one you have above was from the last ota. Of you have recovery, you can just flash this from there. It has the s-on kernel installer built in, so no need to flash from fastboot. :)

    As far as switching to another carrier, I'm not really experienced with that, so I'm not really any help there. :eek:
     
    romanlynch and ocnbrze like this.
  13. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Sorry, I didn't mean switching carriers, I was referring to different ROMs and kernels. I just found "What ROM to flash? A guide on ROM Philosophies" so I'll read that. What is the difference between the Jelly Bean, ICS and AOSP kernels, or is there another guide that I can read?
     
  14. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    If I may, let's do the basics. :)

    Android = Embedded Linux + Dalvik Virtual Machine + Apps that run inside the Dalvik and use Linux services.

    Included in Linux is a Linux kernel. All operating systems have a kernel, including whatever you're running on your desktop machine.

    In the case of a phone, unlike a desktop, they're customized to fit the hardware.

    And just like your desktop, the kernel version goes along with the rest of the operating system version.

    Android versions follow a numbering scheme.

    That's confusing.

    So, they get a letter assigned with each major change.

    They started with A. The first released to the public was C. The latest is J.

    And in each case, dessert or sweets names are used -

    Cupcake, Donut, Eclair, Froyo, Gingerbread, Honeycomb, Ice Cream Sandwich and Jellybean.

    Google makes and provides the operating system for free and builds it specifically for their Nexus phones and tablets. So, it's free and open sourced that anyone can get to - any programmer.

    They put it online in the Android Open Source Project (AOSP) repository.

    HTC started with that and made a Sense version.

    Some developers modify that and make customized Sense roms.

    Others stick to the AOSP code and build their own versions from there.

    Various fans insist that one is better than another but it's a matter of choice.

    There are several Jellybean roms available, either Sense or AOSP-based and even though they're all Jellybean, you go with the whole package, including the kernel for that package.

    No mixing and matching, no exceptions.

    In the old days, the entire operating system was burned into read only memory - rom - on a feature phone.

    Today, it's stored in flash memory, same kind as a usb stick, but we call the whole installable payload a rom, just for fun.

    And it's going on to flash memory so when we install something, we say we flash it, again, fun words.

    Let's get you going from here.

    Forget anything you've read elsewhere about special formatting for your sd card. Pretty clear you've read tangled and very out of date information on that.

    Hope this helps! :)
     
  15. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
  16. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,148
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,148
    7,173
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    When you wiped the phone in recovery, you also need to wipe the system and data from recovery as well.

    More than likely it was the missing wipes that caused the bootloop.

    Also the rom I linked has the S-on kernel installer, maybe it isn't flashing the kernel.

    Follow this tutorial for flashing a kernel whilst S-on, it should get the phone to boot:
    http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-lte-all-things-root/606748-how-install-kernels-h-boot-1-15-a.html

    Lastly, did you perform a backup before you started?

    If not, you should get into the habit of doing that before changing anything from recovery, or root related. :)
     
    ocnbrze and romanlynch like this.
  17. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    I'm reading the guide but I'm confused on something, probably the terminology. Step 3 says:

    Copy the boot.img from the ROM to the same folder as the mini SDK you've downloaded.

    What do they mean by mini SDK? The picture of the directories in step 3 looks nothing like the zip file I just extracted. I have:

    SDK - tools (root folder)
    >> __MACOSX (sub folder)​
    >> sdk - tools (sub sub folder)​
    >> sdk - tools (sub folder)​

    Does that make any sense or should I try and post a picture?
     
  18. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Step 1 -

    So - a few questions -

    - Are you running a Mac?

    - Did you already have that sdk-tools set up from before or from that step?

    ~~~~~~~

    Side note - we made an effort recently to update those references - the link has the right stuff, but the wrong date, so I'm updating that now in http://androidforums.com/evo-4g-lte-all-things-root/606748-how-install-kernels-h-boot-1-15-a.html
     
    romanlynch likes this.
  19. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Windows XP, just from that step. Do I need to download that utility to make this work then?
     
  20. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,591
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,591
    70,376
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Sorry, I'm hit by a mini-emergency - I've contacted the boot.img installer author, Rxpert83, to see if he can't get over and pitch in here.
     
    romanlynch and Rxpert83 like this.
  21. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,909
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,909
    13,142
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Sorry, just got the notice.

    Lets see if I can explain a little better

    Step 1
    Okay: So that mini SDK you downloaded has a few different files in it. In that guide I suggested to place those files with the folder structure C:\Android\platform-tools. You may have to create those folders. You can place them elsewhere, the important thing is just knowing where they are and how to get to it via command line

    Your folder likely wont be as full as mine, as I have the full SDK installed as well as a few other side projects in that image

    Step 2 &3
    Once you have your ROM downloaded, you unzip it and move the boot.img file to the same folder as the fastboot files from before. So both the boot.img and fastboot.exe would be in C:\Android\platform-tools
     
  22. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Gotcha, I remember DOS (kinda lol) so I'm more comfortable with command prompt commands. Thanks for clearing that up for me, I'll post when I get a chance to try this.
     
  23. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    Ok I have the files in the right spot, turned the phone on holding the vol down and am on that menu screen, did the fastboot flash boot boot.img and the command prompt says <waiting for device> do I just reboot the phone from here?
     
  24. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,033
    Posts:
    26,969
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    26,969
    16,918
    3,033
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    is the phone in fastboot(you might need to select fastboot when you are in the bootloader)? it needs to be in fastboot in order to fastboot command the file.
     
    romanlynch, Granite1 and EarlyMon like this.
  25. romanlynch

    romanlynch Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    52
    7
    16
    I selected fastboot from the menu, closed the command prompt and started that fresh. It stayed on <waiting for device> so I selected reboot and now I'm back in the boot loop.
     

Share This Page

Loading...