1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Any OTA Froyo in UK yet?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by CeePeeBee, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. JJBlade

    JJBlade Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010

    Feb 23, 2010
    12
    0
    15
    I also got my ota this morning on t mobile
     

    Advertisement

  2. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    I'm so mad right now. Rrrrrr.
     
  3. stoosh

    stoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    England
    I know what you mean! It seems that everyone's getting the OTA bar a handful of people. I don't understand how Google are pushing out the update.
     
  4. intothesun

    intothesun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    31
    0
    15
    Essex, UK.
    Still waiting here, too (T-Mobile FRF50), though I didn't realise updates were going out until earlier today, so I'm not as frustrated as everyone else. :D

    I may just update it manually if it's not here when I wake in the morning.
     
  5. TOR

    TOR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    It seems to be fairly random, or at least the pattern isn't as obvious as "first buyers = first update". I can't see why they would stop on weekends as the whole process should manage itself, so here's hoping those of us without the update will see it soon :D

    Update: I did *#*#checkin#*#* this morning and it said "checkin:success" as normal. No mention of an update. However, I decided to go to the system update menu in settings to discover 2.2 was already being downloaded! I'm a UK sim-unlocked user, so there are updates taking place on Sunday
     
  6. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #293
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    253
    10
    38
    Male
    Updated OTA this morning @ 09:00-ish for my stock, unrooted, N1 from ERE27 to FRF91, sweet!


    Took Rusty's advice here
    http://androidforums.com/nexus-one/113535-frf91-ota-2.html#post1060253
    about wipe cache partition...


    Clearing cache had made the change of “Memory” (Quick System) from
    Total 368Mb, Free 184Mb, Idle 69Mb ...to
    Total 386Mb, Free 230Mb, Idle 148Mb


    Thanks Google/HTC (eventually..), thanks guys for the advice...


    Now, go play with Froyo...


    Cheers!


    Lodger
     
  7. NunyaBidnez

    NunyaBidnez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    244
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    244
    26
    43
    Student/Intern
    Los Angeles, CA
    If there is anyone still waiting for the FRF91 OTA update, you might want to try resetting the phone to factory settings and rebooting. I waited all week for the update and started to think there was something wrong with my phone because i did each of the manual updates up to FRF85b. After doing a factory reset and restarting the phone, i was immediately greeted with a notification telling me to download FRF91.

    P.S. I have a feeling one of my apps was blocking the update. Possibly the advanced task killer app
     
  8. mobileinstall

    mobileinstall Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009

    Nov 4, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    I got my Nexus One on the first day of release here in the UK. I had manually updated to 2.2 several weeks ago but got my bona fide OTA update to FRF91 this Morning via T-Mobile UK.
     
  9. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    229
    23
    38
    Bristol, UK
    Got mine finally this morning too.
     
  10. oniongirl

    oniongirl Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    563
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    563
    9
    61
    Unemployed Computer Science Graduate
    Brighton, UK
    Me too! And already the stock browser force closed which has never happened before, as did the gallery app. Yayyyyy update!!!
     
  11. CeePeeBee

    CeePeeBee Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    50
    2
    16
    You got the OTA on Vodafone?
     
  12. t0ph0id

    t0ph0id Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    229
    23
    38
    Bristol, UK
    I have a Vodafone contract but bought the phone direct from Google.
     
  13. stoosh

    stoosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    England
    I also got the update yesterday morning too. Nice little touches here and there, I thought Froyo would allow users to change the trackball colour, but I cant find the options anywhere in the settings.
     
  14. strictly86

    strictly86 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    84
    2
    16
    froyo doesnt let you change trackball colours, but if an app has settings for trackball colours, it will work, whereas before it was always white
     
    stoosh likes this.
  15. jodielee2010

    jodielee2010 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    I've just read through all these replies and my brain hurts now lol... im new to android and the Nexus is my first android phone.

    I got it from vodafone at the end of June, it's build number is EPF21B

    straight answer... will I eventually get the OTA update or not?? All the replies in here have proper confused me lol.

    I have absolutely NO IDEA how to update it myself like most of you seem to do... ive looked through the steps and its just going waaaay over my head.

    Might try the resetting to factory settings thing... but not unless I have too.

    Anyone with the same build on vodafone got theirs yet??
     
  16. michael_84

    michael_84 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009

    Oct 27, 2009
    62
    3
    16
    IT Techy
    Manchester, UK
    You will get the update eventually, no one with epf21b have it yet.
     
  17. TOR

    TOR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    You'll get it eventually, but if you got it from Vodafone the update is in their hands, so they'll be making changes (of some sort) to it before a public release.
     
  18. widge

    widge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    UK
    Hence the reason why I rooted and updated manually from 21B to FRF91.

    After being told that vodafone would have nothing to do with froyo as it was a google update only, then to find that vodafone were in fact tinkering helped me make up my mind.

    I'm quite happy on froyo and guess what - I can still make emergency calls etc, so what gives vodafone?
     
  19. CeePeeBee

    CeePeeBee Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    50
    2
    16
    *sigh* Right, I'll say this once and once only. If you go over to the Vodafone UK forum you will see a number (a huge number actually) of posts from Vodafone employees stating categorically that NOTHING will be added or removed, and that they are simply testing the Froyo release Google has given them to make sure their customer base will not be bugging them constantly with issues.
     
  20. widge

    widge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    UK
    CeePeeBee

    Hmmm! Not sure I really beleive thats true.

    Given vodafones past track record and the fact that people in the UK with non 21B builds have upgraded to froyo whilst using a vodafone sim and have had no problems sort of contadicts that statement.
     
  21. TOR

    TOR Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    66
    1
    16
    The crux of my point still stands - it's still in Vodafone's hands, so the delay to the OTA for Vodafone users is because of Vodafone. However seeing as you raised the issue, it does clearly state by Vodafone employees that:

    "We're just waiting for Google to release our version of software for approval and will make this available to our customers as soon as possible." and "There is a Vodafone version of the update that ensures the software settings work on our network to give users the best possible experience. " I never said they'd be adding or removing features, just that they'd be making changes. Clearly if they're awaiting approval, they've made changes of some sort to the stock 2.2.
     
  22. widge

    widge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    UK
    It does make you wonder what settings they need to 'tweak' to give vodafone users the best possible experience?:thinking:

    I manually updated to FRF91 after rooting and have had no problems at all on the vodafone network. In fact I would say that my experience has been better since upgrading from the original 21B that came with the phone which I assume was also a vodafone specific build?
     
  23. drovid

    drovid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    UK
  24. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    159
    Joined:
    May 9, 2010

    May 9, 2010
    159
    10
    58

    Im on Vodafone uk and have no probs at all!! Been on froyo since released, i upgraded manually.

    Im shocked that people are still waiting lolollolololool, seriously its not rocket science!! Its so easy to upgrade manually~!
     
  25. drovid

    drovid Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    UK
    and do not need root the phone!
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...