1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General It's here, ALPHA 2.1 (10-19-2011)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by colchiro, Oct 13, 2011.

  1. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Just don't leave it set to the Performance governor since your min speed becomes the same as your max, so a good way to overheat your cpu and ruin it. :D

    That's like super-gluing your gas pedal to the floor.
     

    Advertisement

  2. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    You don't happen to have another holdout TP you'd sell do you? :p

    I bought this one to give to my brother for Christmas/highschool graduation present, but now I'm digging it bigtime haha
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I'd more likely buy a 3rd than sell one. :D

    Try Amazon and check out "used".
     
  4. nyssa

    nyssa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    114
    12
    38
    Female
    fashion retail
    Seattle, WA
    So I thought everything was going great with my Touchpad, but then....hmm.

    I brought it to work, plugged it in (using the same charger I've been using for it - TP stock wall plug, plus the cord from my phone), left it alone for ~8 hours. Was working fine when I left it...then when I got off work I tried to use it and....nothing. No buttons turn it on, computers don't recognize it when I plug it in, nothing. The cord is definitely good (tested it with my phone), so I have no idea what's up.

    Is it bricked? Can a device spontaneously brick itself all on its own? I'm so confused. :| Has anybody else had this happen?
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    It's the SOD (sleep of death) issue.

    Hold down the power and home buttons until it restarts (hard reset). :D
     
  6. Randino

    Randino Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    423
    110
    88
    Male
    North Carolina
    Hold down power and the home button for few seconds until it starta to reboot
     
  7. Randino

    Randino Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    423
    110
    88
    Male
    North Carolina
    Show off LOL
     
  8. Randino

    Randino Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    423
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    423
    110
    88
    Male
    North Carolina
    What is the calendar widget you are using in the pic?
     
  9. MongooseGA

    MongooseGA Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    74
    1
    16
    Virginia Beach
    I had the same problem as well. I realized it was the wrong cable. For some reason the charging came from my Evo wouldn't work on the TP. I held three volume up button and power until it popped into three screen with the big white usb and from there could restart it.

    What is everyone using to upload their screen shots?
     
  10. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    "Simple Calendar Widget", free in Market :)

    Took some configuring to get it to look like that though
     
    Randino likes this.
  11. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Speed reading class. :cool: :D
     
  12. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    The TP charger and cable are rated at 2 amps. Any other cable is probably only going to provide 1 amp max. Plug any cable (TP or generic) into your computer and you'll have 1/2 amp max.

    1 amp will barely charge it if it's turned on and the display is lit, esp if you're using it.
     
    strat1227 likes this.
  13. nyssa

    nyssa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    114
    12
    38
    Female
    fashion retail
    Seattle, WA
    I tried that - no buttons are doing anything, in any combination whatsoever.

    The cord isn't the right one, I know, but it has worked fine for the last month or so. Yeah, it's slower to charge, but...I lost my TP cord, so... :X
     
  14. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Wow, good info. I'd been using my Palm Pre cable and wall unit up until this point, assuming it was identical.
     
  15. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    The directions I've seen say to hold down the power and home buttons (by the usb connector) both for up to 30 seconds.
     
  16. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Make sure the plug end of your power adapter is twisted all the way on. :D
     
  17. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Something similar happened to me overnight, so I unplugged it and held down power for a while and then menu (by the charger) for a while, then both for a while, and nothing happened

    Then I read online to hold both for 30 seconds and decided to try it again, it turned out my sense of timing is bad because I thought I had held it for at least 30 seconds but when I counted it out myself I had to hold it a lot longer than I thought, and after exactly 30 seconds it rebooted no problem
     
  18. Frozen_Droid

    Frozen_Droid Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    May 5, 2011

    May 5, 2011
    66
    4
    16
    anyone know if there's a good way to read a .pdf now that there's access to the android market? I bought a touchpad and installed a couple of school books on it but haven't gotten alot of use out of it because adobe reader sucks in the web os :(

    I'd love it if someone could do a quick test with any .pdf!
     
  19. nyssa

    nyssa Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011

    Apr 15, 2011
    114
    12
    38
    Female
    fashion retail
    Seattle, WA
    Totally random - I did the exact same thing several times over the span of a few hours...but finally after a few hours, it worked. Random. :|

    Working like a champ now! Hooray CM!!
     
  20. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Has anyone tried headphones yet? When I plug mine in it plays through both headphones and speakers at the same time
     
  21. Amerie

    Amerie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    129
    32
    43
    Doncaster, UK

    I think that's one of the known issues from before the release, hopefully they'll fix it soon.
     
  22. SimsDelt

    SimsDelt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,066
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    1,066
    246
    143
    Project Manager - SAS Construction
    Bremen, Georgia
    Hold down power + home for about 30 seconds, your touchpad will reset. Its a glitch in the alpha build. When it deep sleeps it doesn't wake up.
     
  23. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I haven't had any sleep issues since setting my min OC speed to 384 with SetCPU.
     
  24. strat1227

    strat1227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    246
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011

    Jun 25, 2011
    246
    56
    53
    Dayum. Lookin good.
     
  25. MrBlah

    MrBlah Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010

    Jul 20, 2010
    10
    0
    15
    Anyone have a problem with hulu+ dropping frames? Sound is fine, but it's dropping frames, lowering the video resolution does not seem to affect it

    I tried overclocking, still dropped frames
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...