1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root List of apps safe to remove

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by edodonnell, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. bttledfedmr2

    bttledfedmr2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Detroit/Chicago
    Anyone identifty the Latitude app? As in what APK file it is?
     

    Advertisement

  2. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Latitude is actually apart of Google maps and there is no separate apk for it. Navigation, Places and Latitude are all part of Google maps and no separate apk for them. Only way I believe there is to get rid of one is to get rid of them all and that is to delete Google Maps.
     
    bttledfedmr2 likes this.
  3. bttledfedmr2

    bttledfedmr2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Detroit/Chicago
    Thats what I was thinking because it seems places and latitude run in conjuction with maps. Thanks for the help.
     
  4. bttledfedmr2

    bttledfedmr2 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Detroit/Chicago
    Which file is the control so the screen lock? I some how lost the security options and some power down stuff
     
  5. ShinySide

    ShinySide Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,502
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,502
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Directing people to illegally pirated apps is against Android Forums/Phandroid rules and guidelines and will not be allowed on the forum since Android Forums/Phandroid do not condone or encourage the pirating of apps. If you want the apples buy the whole tree. :)
     
    Wolfz616 likes this.
  6. emis

    emis Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
  7. BrandonOptimus

    BrandonOptimus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    548
    57
    78
    Male
    Jersey
    .... Wrong post
     
  8. dheidemann73

    dheidemann73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    Male
    DFW
    ok i have back up'ed and unistalled these and installed sense analog clock, and calengoo. and now they are crashing, i tried to reinstall them but titanium back up is hanging.....

    any thoughts?
     
  9. Blackhawk1969

    Blackhawk1969 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012

    Jan 31, 2012
    175
    39
    63
    Male
    A galaxy far far away
    did you use Titanium to clean not clear the dalvic cache? I had apps keep showing up in my list after deletion because i didnt delete the Dalvic cache for that app...or its possible that you didnt remove the odex files when deleting?
    Some apps have an Odex file if you use a file explorer to look into the System/app folder make sure the Odex files you deleted are also gone.. not sure if that would cause crashs on your other apps tho..
     
  10. dheidemann73

    dheidemann73 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    32
    8
    16
    Male
    DFW
    basicly i had to uninstall calengoo and sence clock. and re install them and everything is working good now.
     
  11. MyUsernameRox

    MyUsernameRox Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #153
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    604
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012

    Jan 5, 2012
    604
    36
    78
    Male
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    I sent my phone into a bootloop by deleting ADW launcher. It was set as the default launcher when I had cm7 rom installed when I was rooted.

    I thought that setting FTL launcher as the default prior to deleting ADW would be okay, but nope.
     
  12. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl

    I never heard of FTL launcher and I have deleted ADW launcher from my backside installation and I installed holo launcher. Also I think you have to push whatever launcher you're making as default into /system/app by using command: adb push filenameoflauncher.apk /system/app and before that use adb remount
     
  13. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    You don't need to push any replacement home launcher into the system folder. I have used several different launchers and made them the default. Now, however, I haven't deleted what ever one was the default before. I left it and just made the new one the default.
     
  14. rcookie

    rcookie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    22
    0
    15
    Apopka, Fl
    I recently had my phone rooted and deleted lgsetupwizard.odex and googletalk.apk, should i be worried or am I okay?
     
  15. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl

    You should be good. But don't factory reset because you will be screwed.
     
  16. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,457
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,457
    868
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    Thought Google Talk was required by Google Play to initiate downloads. I never knew why that was the case, just that it was. I had many a stuck download that would only commence once I had logged out of GTalk and back in again...
     
  17. sammyz

    sammyz LG Whiz Kid
    Rank:
     #54
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,840
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    8,840
    2,500
    423
    Male
    Video Production
    Sunrise, Fl

    Sometimes all you gotta do is reboot.
     
  18. Rachel A

    Rachel A Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,457
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    2,457
    868
    213
    Female
    DBA & Developer
    In front of my S3
    My SO has just reminded me that I once blew away GTalk by accident and killed my ability to download anything. Had to get someone here to send me a copy to fix. This was on either Eclair or FroYo and back in the days of Google Market. Things may have changed since then.

    Logging out and back in to GTalk seems significantly faster than rebooting though...
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...